We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Ranked #51 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Stayed here with my daughter for one night, Sat 19th March. We where very happy with the cleanliness and size of room, we found the beds nice and comfortable. Breakfast was included in price and we found it plentiful and a good variety. Staff where very helpful and friendly. Would stay here again as at £66 for our stay was a very good price. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyprusdelite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

Thank you very much for your comments regarding the hotel. I will pass all your feedback onto the team here at Manchester.

Many Thanks

Carl Butterworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (644)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

560 - 566 of 644 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2011

Despite a crazily complex road junction on the A57 betwen Denton and east Manchester this hotel is not difficult to find, has plenty parking (free by the way).
The standard room is adequate rather than huge but then I guess HI knows its market and prices accordingly in competition with a Premier Inn less than a mile away.

The bathroom has a unique design with a door which permits the WC to be isolated from the shower area - which thankfully is a step-in with no bath to climb into.
A decent breakfast is included in the price.
But what makes this place questionable for business travelers is the poor lighint. Bedside lighting is barely adequate for reading; there are no 'easy to get to' power sockets.

I would recommend this hotel for one or two night stays.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David82605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2011

Thank you very much for your comments on the hotel. We use energy saving light bulbs in all of the light fittings in the bedrooms as part of the companies green and energy saving policy, but I will pass on your comments.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

This hotel offers some really good deals at weekends, unfortunately this seems to attract some rather noisy and disruptive clients. They really need either to employ a good security firm or to get the local police on their side or they will have major problems when guests who wish to sleep confront these animals.

On the plus side the rooms are clean and well maintained and the staff pleasant and helpful. The breakfast, included in the room rate, was fine.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jot54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

Thank you for all of your comments regarding your stay earlier this month. I am glad to hear that your room was clean and to standard and I will take your other comments regarding noise and security on board. Many Thanks

Carl Butterworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Recently stayed here for two nights the hotel itself is very clean and tidy and about a 15 minute drive from manchester city centre,stayed in room 210 room was clean and tidy however the bed was not very comfortable resulting in me having back pain for a few days after my stay also the shower was not very powerful,There is a restaurant on site but the menu was not very appealing and expensive for what was on offer,the hotel is very close and a ideal base for manchester.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank jimbob077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2011

Thank you very much for your feedback on the hotel. I am really sorry that the bed was not comfortable for you. The hotel recently replaced all of its mattresses. The dinner menu is been currently reviewed and extensions to the menu will be made in March.
I will pass all you comments on to the team.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Stayed in this hotel in January and had a good time. Room was spacious and clean...only gripe was the smell. It smelt like it had once been a smokers room and that the cleaning staff were trying to mask the smell of cigarettes by over using shake and vac. Other than that everything was fine. Kids enjoyed the breakfast...lots to choose from including beans, scrambled eggs, sausages etc. Staff were helpful and friendly. Plenty of room in the carpark and an ideal location for popping into Manchester or for visiting family and friends. Manchester Museum (free) is great for a morning out as is the Museum of Science and Industry MOSI. If visiting this museum then Sunday is a good day as free parking in the surrounding area. Also handy for Stockport which has a busy town centre, Hatting Museum, local museum at Vernon Park and lots of other attractions including Lyme Park. Originally from around that area so ideal location for me...will definately be visiting hotel again if we can get another great deal.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bexsta-star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carl7206, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2011

Thank you very much for all of your comments, I will pass your feedback on to all the team here at the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

My husband and two young teenager sons stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. We were not given rooms near each other as previously requested. They were trying to give us two rooms on different floors which I complained about. Eventually they gave us rooms fairly near each other. In the week we slept well and were pleased with our rooms. On the friday night there were four rooms next to us that had big groups of noisy girls and boys. They were very loud from 2 - 5 in the morning. I rang reception twice to complain in the night and therefore our sleep was affected. We had to pay £79 for that night despite the lack of sleep. I had asked the hotel earlier to change our rooms as we saw and heard the noisy groups earlier in the evening but reception claimed the hotel was full despite a half empty car park. I would not recommend coming here on a weekend night unless you are planning to be awake most of the night !

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrie186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear carrie186460

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at our hotel. I can only apologise that you haven't been responded to sooner.

I am very sorry to hear that you encountered issues with noise during your previous visit. We now proactively patrol the corridors on a night time in an effort to limit the effect of noise on other guests. We will also aim to always locate friends and families nearby to each other where possible. I do hope we may welcome you back to the hotel in the near future, we have upgraded our rooms and services in our hotel since your last visit which I'm sure will leave you suitably impressed.

Kind Regards

Daniel Dane
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

An immaculatley clean and comfotable no frills hotel. We stayed 2 nights a half price rate of £21 per room and that include a 'free' hot breakfast. (that is £10-50 each per night B & B). I t would still be good value at the normal rate 0f £42 per nigh per room. The staff are friendly and the beds comfortable.The only thing we did not like was the dinner menu, and that is because we don't like Italian food.
The pub next door (The Bandstand) serves poorly cooked food and expensive drinks (£2 for a glass of lime juice and soda).The service is slow, the dining area is noisy with lots of children. Avoid it!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank algt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel D, Guest Services Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear algt

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your visit to our hotel. I am sorry that we haven't responded to you sooner. I am delighted that your visit was a very pleasant one. We have upgraded our rooms and services since your last visit, I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Daniel Dane
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
2.8 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
3.4 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 120 in Manchester
2,862 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
2.8 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 120 in Manchester
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester East

Address: Debdale Park 21 Wall Way | Hyde Road, Manchester M18 7WY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#30 Family Hotel in Manchester
#37 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $68 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn East Manchester East is just 1 mile from the M60 motorway, Junction 24, and M67, Junction 1. Rates include continental breakfast with hot choices and free car parking and coach access. We are just 2 miles from City of Manchester Stadium, Sport City and Manchester Velodrome home of British Cycling, and a short taxi journey to Old Trafford Stadium, home of Manchester United Football Club.All rooms offer wifi access, telephone and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. Manchester International Airport is 15 minutes away, whilst an hour's drive by motorway from the hotel will take you to the English Lake District and to the seaside coastal resorts of Blackpool, and the city of Liverpool. Within Manchester city centre are major and small art galleries and museums, including the Tate North, the new Lowry at Salford Quays, the City Art Gallery, the Manchester Museum and the Museum of Science and Industry , as examples. Whether you decide to do shopping in the Trafford Centre or attend a concert at the MEN Arena, you are always welcome at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, Gorton, Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Manchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing