We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always superb”
Review of La Roma Restaurant

La Roma Restaurant
Ranked #412 of 2,274 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Riverside Italian with al fresco dining at Stoneclough, near Bolton.Stefano ran La Roma in Bromley Cross for 10 years and has now moved the operation to Stoneclough, near Bolton. It’s in a picturesque spot right next to the River Irwell and outside seating makes the most of the location. Expect classic Italian food prepared fresh to order with signature dishes like their Cartoccio Mushrooms, deep-fried mushrooms stuffed with pate and wrapped in filo pastry. It’s a large menu with lots of pizza and pasta choices and plenty of meat and fish mains with seafood a real speciality here. The wine list is all-Italian. La Roma is a relaxed and intimate venue, convenient for both Bolton and Manchester. It’s open for lunch and dinner, seven days a week. San Marco in Blackrod is a sister venue.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Always superb”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Myself and a family booking of 10 ate here recently at lunch time on a sunny day and it was excellent.

It's the best Italian in the Radcliffe/Bury area and it's a great location opposite RIngley Bridge and the River Irwell.

The staff are always spot on and the food too. All 10 of us were very pleased with our food wgich ranged from risotto and canneloni to various pizzas. The garlic bread is always fantastic here to and the wine choice extensive. We'll be back soon (again)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JuddyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    54
    34
    19
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

I attended a birthday party here last night as part of a table of approx 18. The food was good and the prices sensible. I had the steak with Diane sauce and it was good. It would have been better to have an option to exchange the potatoes and house vegetables for a pasta but that's just my preference ...

At 7pm on Saturday night it was effectively full so it might be wise to book at the weekend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“16th birthday”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Came here for my daughters 16th birthday. As usual fantastic food and service. What a great evening we all had. Food was first class.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCBUILD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A very pleasant place to eat”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

This restaurant is set in a nice location. The food was lovely, with a nice choice on the menu. The staff were attentive and friendly. My only slight criticism was that the tables were a little packed in (in the area where we were sat).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JKS999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We visit La Roma quite often and the food is always of a high quality, having sampled a variety of dishes. On this occasion I had the chicken and mushroom risotto which was perfect. It is a very pleasant place and the only criticism would be that the staff can be a little too attentive so the evening is over too quickly but there is a very nice bar area to sit and have a drink.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sally w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Roma Restaurant also viewed

 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
Ainsworth, Bury
 

Been to La Roma Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing