We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A liitle taste of Italy in Bolton.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Roma Restaurant

La Roma Restaurant
Ranked #470 of 2,245 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Riverside Italian with al fresco dining at Stoneclough, near Bolton.Stefano ran La Roma in Bromley Cross for 10 years and has now moved the operation to Stoneclough, near Bolton. It’s in a picturesque spot right next to the River Irwell and outside seating makes the most of the location. Expect classic Italian food prepared fresh to order with signature dishes like their Cartoccio Mushrooms, deep-fried mushrooms stuffed with pate and wrapped in filo pastry. It’s a large menu with lots of pizza and pasta choices and plenty of meat and fish mains with seafood a real speciality here. The wine list is all-Italian. La Roma is a relaxed and intimate venue, convenient for both Bolton and Manchester. It’s open for lunch and dinner, seven days a week. San Marco in Blackrod is a sister venue.
lancs
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A liitle taste of Italy in Bolton.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have visited this restaurant now on four seperate occasions and never been disappointed. The food is beautiful,service wonderful with helpful staff. All food served on hot plates {one of my bug bears in restaurant}. Not at all expensive extensive menu all food cooked to order. The atmosphere is wonderful. Plenty of parking on car park. In fact just booked again for Friday evening.. Ideal for parties too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happytrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    51
    31
    18
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have never been disappointed at La Roma. Even if we turn up without booking on a Saturday evening they do their best to fit you in.
Pizzas to die for. Only comment is if they did two sizes. Small/medium or large.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggieanne-M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food with great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Having visited LaRoma last night good selection of specials had the aubergine starter followed by the Steak special with crunchy veg a bottle of the house red. The service and the food was 5 star had a great evening want. A good italian you must try here

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Menu has a wide range with lots of choices for everybody to find something great. Really nice restaurant. Best of all was the service, attentive without being invasive. Parking is a little restricted so if you are going as part of a group you would ideally like to car share.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mozzasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The food is not for five star rating, would be three and half or four.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We went on 17 of January 2013, because I saw this restaurant rating five star on trip-advisor so I like to try. I much say the service is pretty good and main course are not too bad. But over all the food is not for five star rating. Just in case somebody who looked on the tripadvisor web-side and would like to try might be disappointed as expecting five star rating food. I was so excited to try for five star rating food but that was not for the five star food. If that will be like five star food I would go twice a month. I recommend Skilettet restaurant in Hayfield is better than this.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Roma Restaurant also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
 
Blackrod, Bolton
Ainsworth, Bury
 

Been to La Roma Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing