We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!, I love Manchester!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gay Village

Gay Village
Ranked #24 of 174 things to do in Manchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Centered around the Canal street area in Manchester is a thriving gay scene, which offers a plethora of bars, clubs, restaurants and other nighttime venues for gays and straights alike.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
“Wow!, I love Manchester!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I would rate Manchester better than London!, it's my favourite city in England!. The gay scots love this city!, been tempted to move here as I visit Manchester 3 or 4 times a year!. The gay village is great & the guys really friendly as well as being hot!. Love the accent & the bars/clubs fantastic!. Never had a bad weekend here ever!. Really love this city!!!, xx

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Weescotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    265
    101
    44
    90
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Well worth a night on the tiles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Totally love the gay village every1 is welcome fun lively lovely warm welcoming community party centeral you can dance till you cant dance anymore

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank carolinesmithsale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A walk on the gay side”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Straight couples are welcomed into the area on Canal St, it is bar after bar, so you can have your whole night out in this area alone. Well worth doing when in Manchester

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank redrob174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“rude people”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We went there last Friday for the first time with friends who visited from London. We tried to get in Queer - the people at the door were so rude and said that regulars only and let in only people who looked like gay or lesbian, i am not stereotyping but that is what was happening. The same thing happened at GAY so we just took a taxi and got out of there.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lealee84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Daughter moving to London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was a great experience, the food was excellent and it was a family party where everyone enjoyed the food and the service. It was excellent and something I would repeat.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gay Village also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Gay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing