We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a good nite”
Review of Gay Village

Gay Village
Ranked #26 of 177 things to do in Manchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Centered around the Canal street area in Manchester is a thriving gay scene, which offers a plethora of bars, clubs, restaurants and other nighttime venues for gays and straights alike.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“always a good nite”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Love it in Velvet !! and had a really good time in Queer - always a good atmosphere - everyone really friendly

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pauline g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    439
    268
    103
    45
    90
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Canal Street is brilliant at night. A fantastic atmosphere & some lovely bars. I was able to sample some very fancy beverages in "Velvet" - a little expensive compared to other places I have visited but don't let it put you off. Totally worth it. I had a brilliant weekend & most of my night time was spend here. I would recommend a visit to this area if you are making a trip to Manchester - it's a must.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good place to Party”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Nice atmosphere and setting. Lots of places to drink and eat. Wa a bit upset by G.A.Y club as it only lets in locals and seemed a bit discriminating which is unusual for a gay venue.But the other place highly recommended place for a gay night out

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tmbobSlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truane
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“WILL BE LOVELY IN THE SPRING !”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

With the cold weather in early April not the best time for a visit but this was one of the most friendly areas I went into and I can just imagine how great it would be be with all the tables outside - worth a visit

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank truane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yodakandiya, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“happiness”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

brill day out, had a good laugh with a few guys. we had a lot of fun wink wink. overall I had a gay old time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jed i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gay Village also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Gay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing