We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun!”
Review of Gay Village

Gay Village
Ranked #27 of 182 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Centered around the Canal street area in Manchester is a thriving gay scene, which offers a plethora of bars, clubs, restaurants and other nighttime venues for gays and straights alike.
Magor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We visited the Gay Village some years ago and it was fabulous. Such a friendly welcoming place to be. We went with our daughter and boyfriend and it was good for us all, so all ages. We had drinks in different bars and then we ate in another bar. We found it great fun.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    272
    103
    45
    90
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“welcoming”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

this is fantastic area to go, you dont have to be gay to enjoy the restaurants and bars, people very friendly and safe

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A whole street of rainbow flags!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Let's face it, it's not London or San Francisco, but it is impressive none the less. Canal Street truly is the gay street, where nearly every bar, club and restaurant entrance is adorned with rainbow flags. I'd like to see more variety (eg: retail shops), but if you're gay and you want to go out in Madchester, it's easy to know where to go.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RaeganKrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Feel At Home”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Feel totally at home here, as we have no Gay scene in Dumfries at all so it is lovely to be able to relax and be yourself without fear of attack (I am sorry but it does happen)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fenric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun!!!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just go and see it and have a drink and a mingle.....always a good laugh in the gay villages anywhere you go anyways!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gay Village also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Gay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing