We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sisters 18th! x”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gay Village

Gay Village
Ranked #24 of 175 things to do in Manchester
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Centered around the Canal street area in Manchester is a thriving gay scene, which offers a plethora of bars, clubs, restaurants and other nighttime venues for gays and straights alike.
St Helens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sisters 18th! x”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Such a good night out for everyone :) 5 Girls aged from 18 to 26 .... Brilliant never any trouble xx

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HailsCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    265
    101
    44
    90
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Get a drink sit beside the canal and watch the world go by.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Whatever your orientation, this street has some of the best people and the best bars in the city. It is a welcoming and friendly place, and if you want fun there isn't a better area to visit in the evening. It can get pretty wild on the weekend. This street was partly responsible for encouraging people to move back to the city centre and make it a trendy place to live again. Years ago this area was empty at night and no one wanted to live in the centre.

I like to have a quiet drink from one of the bars in the afternoon and sit outside when its dry. The view along the canal makes you realise just what a historic place the centre of the city is. This view has inspired L S Lowry and Adolfe Valette, two famous artists from the locality. The wide range of people passing by helps you realise what a truly cosmopolitan and inclusive place Manchester can be when its at its best.

Chinatown with its dozens of world class restaurants and the city art gallery are just around the corner when you have finished your coffee and need to feed mind and body.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Voycey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fab night out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Used to go out there quite often, great atmosphere and such a laugh. Did go on a float for the parade once too, fantastic!

Helpful?
Thank SammyWilki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Go at least once, but go now!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I usually go to the gay village either a Friday or Saturday when the party is in full swing! My female friends go for the safety, and my male friends go for the show. The atmosphere is usually electric particularly coming up to Pride, but lately some clubs have been running a gay only policy which is disappointing. It can be one of the cheapest nights out into town and the choice is ample despite the heterosexual restrictions.
Although i say its safe, don't hang around too long outside in the early hours, and stick to the main streets unless you want people to try and sell you some sort of drug or become your dealer! Unfortunately, i find this is becoming an increasing occurance and a police presence is rare.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank tom f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awesome night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We went out for a friends birthday and had an awesome evening. We were dressed up as footballers & cheer leaders and were refused at a couple of venues as they assumed we were on a hen night, when it was actually a birthday. One place also refused us on the grounds of not being lesbians, which i found really offensive. We were a mixed small group of gay straight & lesbian, and did not see why any of us had to prove our preference lol.

Velvet is a gorgeous place, had some lovely cocktails here and a fabulous meal at Villagio

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank funkythreads2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gay Village also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Gay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing