We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Review Highlights
Day out

I had a lovely day at the people's museum and it was very informative and educational and well... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
travellingkingdom
,
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
via mobile
Lovely little visit

A wonderful and insightful museum. A must for the family or anyone who enjoys History. Filled... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
russellfamily6
,
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Read all 988 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Manchester
from $15.20
More Info
from $44.34
More Info
from $15.20
More Info
from $0.03
More Info
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveler rating
546
339
74
17
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
546
339
74
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews peterloo massacre trade union labour party union banners temporary exhibition industrial revolution interesting displays couple of hours the ground floor all ages on display free entry city centre movement rights politics social
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 988 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019

The temporary exhibition on the Peterloo Massacre was very interesting, and staff took great pains to answer my question about the exact location of St Peter's Fields. The permanent exhibition on the 1st Floor is well set out and explained

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank perrygrinate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019

Went to Manchester for the weekend with my wife and visited this museum. There is an exceptionally good exhibition on the Peter-loo Massacre and the start of democracy as we know it. The museum sports an excellent cafe where you can eat and drink. It takes about 2 hours to walk around and I would go again.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank ROZNBAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019

Very interesting -- as an American, I didn't know much about Manchester history but this museum taught me a lot. Very interesting to learn about the development of democracy in England. The exhibit about Peterloo was fascinating -- again, a very important part of world democratic history but I don't know how much about it is known outside England. Definitely worth a visit if you're in Manchester.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank MJfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019 via mobile

Visited multiple times, always pop in when I pass. A superbly curated museum which fills an essential space of telling a story that doesn't get told by the big longer established museums. Essential visit and a treasure of the north west region, indeed a national treasure. Brilliant staff. Also the cafe is superb, excellent food and coffee, service is fantastic.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank LeSanglierCruzVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

A museum of the people for the people. Why can't we have more places like this in Britain? OUR history and culture -not the The few.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank DaveThomasLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews