We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit and still found things we had missed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of People's History Museum

People's History Museum
Ranked #12 of 171 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This history museum chronicles the lives of Manchester's working people during the past one hundred years.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Second visit and still found things we had missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

As stated this was our second visit. It should required viewing for all school children in our country. Our first visit was cut short so we made sure that we had set aside plenty of time to be able to spend time to assimilate the information. The history portrayed is put over in such an accessible way that I defy anyone not to come away with at least a better understanding of how people have struggled for the rights we take so much for granted.
The exhibits are set out in sections and flow very well into each other. Maps of the flow are available and I recommend taking one as sometimes on corners it is not always clear which route to take.
The ground floor changing exhibition area was displaying the history of the Co-Operative society this was also fascinating.
The volunteers are very knowledgeable and very approachable.
I would urge anyone with an interest in history to go.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    247
    61
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Came to an evening party, the food was tender and average, the service was good and overall pleasant experience, will go again for lunch

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

A very emotional experience for me. I am so grateful to those who risked/lost their lives in the struggle to give me the very comfortable working and employment conditions that I enjoyed before retiring. You do not have to look too far into the past to realise how many men, women and children had to suffer at the mercy of many (not all) greedy selfish employers. Without the trade union and labour movement, working conditions would not be what they are today. The National Health Service would not have existed.
A visit to the museum, irrespective of one's political views, is well worth it, there is so much to learn and with many surprises. Fancy Queen Victoria not approving of women having a vote. The hypocrisy of the woman.
Having worked for the Co-operative Society (both delivering milk and baking bread) I enjoyed reminiscing through the Co-op exhibition and remembering being a member of U.S.D.A.W. Happy days? Not really, too hot in the bakery and too cold delivering milk in the winter.
There is no fee required but a voluntary donation should be seriously considered.
The staff are very helpful and pleasant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Despite some of it being closed for refurbishment, there was so much to see. It bought a lump to my throat, thinking of all the struggle to get democracy, equality and decent working conditions to this country. We need to guard the advances....

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 240LucyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“People's Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Well worth a couple of hours of your time to explore this country's unique political history.

Also enjoyed the exhibition on the Co-op.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed People's History Museum also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to People's History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing