We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of People's History Museum

People's History Museum
Ranked #12 of 171 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This history museum chronicles the lives of Manchester's working people during the past one hundred years.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was an absolutely fantastic museum. Yes, it lacks historical depth, and yes, it is skewed to a particular political side, but that seems to be exactly what it wants to do, since it advertises itself as a people's museum, rather than a place of presenting supposedly neutral facts. It does a great job at showing exactly how rights had to be fought for by ordinary people who had to fight endlessly against the bigotry of those with vested interests. A remarkable place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vintiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    247
    61
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Certainly worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you want to learn a little bit more about the social and political history of England and in particular the impact on the North of the country in the past 200 years then this museum is well worth a visit. Loved the exhibits and the interactive bits. Great coffee shop as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise186317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Political museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I've never been to a museum like this before. It was intensely political and so focused. It's great to go to something that pursues just one area of interest rather then a generalist museum

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kendra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Neat place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

little confusing about how one best foloows the chronological order of the exhibit - but interesting anyway.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chutzpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We decided to visit the People's History museum as it one of the ones that I haven't been to since it reopened.

I imagined that following the reopening that the exhibits would be tailored to a more modern style with upgraded interactive sections. I was wrong! The museum holds a great deal of interesting information, but I felt that it was rather cluttered and crowded with the space not being used to the best capacity. The exhibits were cramped together with strange 'open the door to see other stuff' kind of interactions.

I felt that the area was rather claustrophobic and difficult to navigate to learn the history in chronological order.

The staff, however, were very friendly and knowledgeable sharing small snippets of information and real life stories.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank The_Urban_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed People's History Museum also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to People's History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing