We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb. Very strongly recomended”

People's History Museum
Ranked #12 of 175 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This history museum chronicles the lives of Manchester's working people during the past one hundred years.
cockermouth uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb. Very strongly recomended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I went to visit this about 2 years ago and enjoyed it a lot. On a recent repeat visit to manchester, my companion, who had not been before, wished to go. I said i would have a quick look to keep them company, then leave them to it.. But instead found my self captivated once again, spending several hours there..

Yes, some aspects could have been gone into in more detail, and yes there is a little bit of 'dumbing down' to be kiddie friendly - but still more than enough for the grown up to learn and appreciate. You take in as much as you wish = and if even one child gains an insight into British politics, thats a major gain.

When the usual 'museum fatigue' set in, we retreated to the cafe. The prices are a little on the high side, but we looked at this as a way of supporting them.. Don't go "nearly two quid for a cup of tea!", but see it as £3.50 admission with a free tea and cake- superb value.

It was half term, and the museum and especialy the cafe were an island of calm and sanity from the mayhem of the MOSI cafe.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ray m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    253
    61
    15
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent new site for museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Now moved into an entirely new building, this is a brilliant story of struggle for justice and democracy, especially from a Manchester point of view.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank lares09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The people were missing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

New location for the peoples museum but the people were missing. It was empty apart from us. The museum tells an interesting story from a different perspective, a perspective that todays media rubbishes. Recognises that mistakes were made.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cuthman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest, UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mixed.Some good eye catching displays but, I believe, shows a non balanced, one sided approach.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have visited this museum twice. It seems to me (in 2012 at the time of my last visit) that it had a smaller less encompassing display than it did in ??? the mid 1990's ??? when I visited before.

Some colourful displays. They seem to highlight the "workers cause", and it does mention some important history and issues.. But interestingly it seems to be a biased account, for not once can I remember reading anything about how union activity ground Britain to a halt, and was directly responsible for a lot of stagnation.

The negative aspects of some of the 'unionism" in history seem to have been airbrushed away

I think perhaps the museum should consider having a more inclusive "balanced" approach.

Maybe the museum should also focus on things like how unionistic activity brought the once world leading British car industry to its knees, and allowed foreign competitors to gain the upperhand.

I am writing this review months after visiting, So I cant be more concise at the moment, but these are the impressions I got after visiting months ago.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
500 reviews
276 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Excellent selection and introduction to the manchester life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great selection of local history on offer and gives you a real insight into the history of manchester and the north west.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnretroreload
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed People's History Museum also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to People's History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing