We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful! A great restaurant.. Loved it!”

Rosso Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Rosso Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #130 of 2,297 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $26 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Housed in a Grade II Listed building, Rosso Restaurant Manchester presents fine Italian cuisine and exquisite wines in a magnificent and contemporary setting. Owned by Rio Ferdinand, Rosso has glamorous cocktails, regular live jazz and a cool celebrity crowd. Full of delicious dishes, the Rosso menu features fresh pasta, pizza and risotto, along with fine meat and fish dishes.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Wonderful! A great restaurant.. Loved it!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

I booked this for a birthday party and had one of the best nights out in Manchester ever! I found the staff to be professional and casual and we were treated like valued customers (something that isn't always the case in other restaurants!)

The birthday boy was acknowledged (and given a lovely free dessert at the end) which was a nice touch. I had the beet root soup followed by Chicken in green pepper with Ginger. Portion sizes were large and food was fantastic. Wines were reasonably priced and very tasty. We were not rushed and atmosphere was great.

This is a celeb hot spot and with pop stars and actors dinning around us it made everything feel that bit more exciting.

I have been to many many restaurants in Manchester. And this truly is one of the best!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank aniceglassofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,302
    812
    434
    235
    190
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“evening meal for 3 good quality food and service”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We have eaten here twice, beautiful old building and décor, with the Footballer (tacky!!) pictures on the wall like a theme bar. But the building is so ornate you can overlook it. Tables are quite tight together but the high ceilings keep it feeling spacious. Great attentive service, extensive wine list and an awesome Manu. They do add 10% to the bill that does hump people off. But was happy to pay that. Live music (Jamie Cullen style) playing and plenty of wags and boyfriends enjoying the sophistication. Definitely recommended as on two trips the food and service has been excellent. Décor and music is just down to personal taste.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiftyblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant, great service”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The food here was great and the service was excellent.
Make sure you book a table before you go, especially at weekends as it can get very busy and you could get turned away or have to wait a while.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Thank you ponytail man!!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend visited rosso on a quiet Sunday evening, the food really was great, and the restaurant looks amazing!! They have clearly spent a few quid here!!!

Despite some reviews I think £114 for a 2 course meal with wine and drinks for the two of us is pretty good!!

Gentleman with the ponytail (sorry, didn't get his name!) was clearly very experienced, and spotted very quickly that I didn't like the table we were sat at, moved us straight away, and was very attentive all evening!! Thank you ponytail man!!

My Only grip is service charge!! If you want to pay your staff more, then please do so, but don't force me too!! I don't get it, stop it!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Slick”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Slick experience from start to finish. Trendy decor. Trendy people. Trendy food. If you want to impress take someone here. Definitely more suitable for a couple than a family in my opinion.

The coat room could be located closer as had to wait a little while to receive them (if I'm going to be picky....)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosso Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Rosso Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing