We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a luxury to have a fantastic and different little restaurant at your doorstep”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arian - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Arian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Neighborhood: Chorlton
Manchester
Level Contributor
156 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Such a luxury to have a fantastic and different little restaurant at your doorstep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I visited Arian with some friends on a Saturday evening after seeing the good rating of Arian on Tripadvisor. The menu is original and all the dishes we chose were delightful, full of flavours (and flavours that you don't find anywhere else). I had been to Persian restaurants in the past and I had forgotten how good the food was. The plates are generous but you don't feel blotted afterwards; in the contrary the food looked quite healthy. The service at Arian is lovely; the prices are low; but indeed the music is quite bad (but who cares?). We would definitely return to Arian.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crumpet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    11
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly service and delightful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Visiting on a quiet Sunday evening, we took our own bottle of Margaux to wash down the lovely Persian food. Both the lamb shank and the sweet and sour chicken were well-prepared, and accompanied by exquisitely-cooked rices. ( A different type for the different dishes). The aubergine starter was brilliant, and the accompanying unleavened bread was warm and fresh.

OK, they had run out of Persian ice cream, which was a pity. Nevertheless a great and inexpensive dinner out in a friendly, family-run place. The surrounding area is full of restaurants; this is one of the best.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 70Dave8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Persian food at great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

I love this place, the food is fresh and tasty and with generous portion sizes. It's bring your own and the prices are very reasonable so you can enjoy lovely food without breaking the bank. Atmosphere is relaxed and service is pleasant. Definitely recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susie_mcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“TASTY AND DIFFERENT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I went to this restaurant when I was shopping in manchester and had senn it reviewed so thought I would give it a try and wow it realy is a terrefic place. Fresh food and good service I would reccome

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went with friends for a pre-Christmas meal. Excellent Persian food, friendly helpful service, good atmosphere. Bring your own wine. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scratchetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arian also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing