We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, new addition to Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Ranked #54 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great, new addition to Manchester”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I visited for two days during a conference.

The hotel is in a great location, around 10 min walk from Piccadilly station, and 5 minutes from Oxford Road. The hotel is new and is what you expect from Holiday Inn Express - cheap, value for money, clean, and get what you pay for.

The rooms are clean, spacious, wifi is great and AC good enough to keep the room cool. Breakfast is basic, but does the job if you are on the go.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aw2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for your comments on our hotel.

I am pleased that you think that the hotel is new as we are now coming up to our 4th birthday and we are proud that we have been able to keep the new feel to the hotel.

Thank you again and hopefully we will see you again in Manchester.

Kind regards

Jonathan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    454
    202
    57
    40
See reviews for
144
288
66
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Premier Inn's for my mind dominate the budget hotel scene for quality and excellent value. Travellodges despite there recent revamp are still way behind. However having now stayed at two Holiday Inn Express hotels I think these are a genuine rival to Premier Inn.

This one is smart and very comfortable and walking distance to the centre. Good size bathroom with a powerful shower (not many hotels can claim this!)

The down side is the build quality of the exterior as it is just so noisy. I have stayed at plenty of city centre hotels but this one struggles to keep any noise out. There was also a fan in bathroom too which wouldn't turn off!

Apart from noise and if Holiday Inn Express did breakfast to order it would be my first choice every time.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank truecelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on our hotel.

I am pleased that you liked our hotel but am sorry that you found it noisy. We do endeavour to eliminate the external noise but this can be difficult in such a vibrant part of Manchester city centre. However, the air movement system in the bathroom should be silent and we should have adjusted this if it was making a noise.

I am pleased that you would use Holiday Inn Express again.

Kind regards

Jonathan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
178 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Clean and comfortable with a good breakfast. Indeed, the breakfast is a welcome change from the HIXs of North America where everything is thrown away afterwards (plates, cutlery, cups). Here, they used ceramic plates and cups as well as metal cutlery. This is most welcome. Our room was on the 8 th floor near the lift - no significant mechanical noise. Would be quite happy to stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CyclistSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that you liked the breakfast.

Thank you again.

Regards

Jonathan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport,U.K.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Friendly receptionist at check-in, large room, with spacious bathroom with large walk-in shower - better than many 4* hotel bathrooms. Everything was bright and clean, with a floor to ceiling window. Breakfast included, in a very modern area. Would stay here again. Great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneAitken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
I would like to thank you for giving us your review following your recent stay.

I am truly pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that you liked the shower, and the hotel.

Kind regards

Jonathan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We arrived around 15:00 on a Friday and pulled up outside the hotel where we were greeted by a member of staff who gave us directions to their preferred car parking just up the road opposite the hotel. The hotel validate your parking ticket and it costs £7 and is a secure car park. Check in was no trouble and we were on the 9th floor. A nice room looked newly decorated with large windows, The bathroom was like new also and we had no issues with the room. There are loads of bars and restaurants close by as is the Manchester Ritz. Breakfast was an organised queue, you get the usual coffee, tea, cereal, yogurt, fruit juice, scramble eggs, sausage, beans and toast, Even though they were busy i cant say it was a stressful experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for giving us your thoughts on our hotel.

Breakfast can get very busy and we are currently looking at changing the lay out of the room to enable the que to be shorter and the experience more pleasurable for everyone.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Jonathan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I had a clean, comfortable room. The breakfast good, and the free Wi-Fi very welcome. The staff were happy to provide takeaway menus and plate & cutlery to eat it with. The hotel is in a convenient city centre location, but is not at all noisy.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank XidiaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
I would like to thank you for giving us your feedback about our hotel.

I am pleased that you were able to benefit from the free WI-FI and that my staff were able to make your stay an enjoyable one.

Many thanks

Jonathan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed here as a couple for 1 night after going to see a show at the Palace Theatre.

All the staff were nice and we had a room on the 8th floor which was very nice, the bathroom was good and a big walk in shower.

A very pleasant stay, no complaints, but I would say the cooked part of the breakfast was very limited, to scrambled eggs, sausage and beans, would have liked some bacon and a choice of eggs, not everyone likes beans and sausage. The rest of the breakfast was nice.

Would stay here again if the price was right.

Room Tip: higher floors are probably the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylviaandbernardtimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent stay. Being located so close to the Palace theatre makes the hotel an ideal place to stay when seeing one of the shows.

Unfortunately, the Holiday Inn Express brand does only offer a limited hot offering at breakfast but the breakfast is free.

Thank you again and hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Many thanks

Jonathan Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#50 of 116 in Manchester
1,626 reviews
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Address: 2 Oxford Road, Manchester M1 5QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Manchester
#39 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#39 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Oxford Road is an ideal hotel to stay if you are in Manchester for business or pleasure. Located next to Oxford Road train station the hotel has a central location with the main shopping area only 10 minutes walk away. Situated in the vibrant Oxford Road part of Manchester it is next to both the University of Manchester and Manchester Metropolitan University.Transport links are very good to both Manchester United and Manchester City as well as the National Football Museum, Palace and Opera House theatres and the Museum of Science and Industry. The hotel offers inclusive breakfast and all rooms have High Speed Internet Access as well as air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer and choice of pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Cc-Oxford Road Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing