We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean decent sized rooms, not the best breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Ranked #58 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on a girls weekend to Manchester. Picked the hotel as it was the cheapest available by some stretch at £60 each for the two nights and it did triple rooms.

Location was great, short taxi ride from Piccadilly station and surrounded by various bars, coffee shops and places to eat. Also only about a 15 minute walk up to the Arndale shopping centre.

Staff were helpful and check in was nice and quick. The rooms were a good size and there was a choice of hard and soft pillows although the beds weren't the most comfortable. One of my friends was also in love with the shower gel provided and although not the most powerful the shower was lovely and big.

We all love a good breakfast but the one provided wasn't the best. However it was free and was adequate enough if you're hungry. There are signs up to explain the busy times, it's pretty much common sense, and you will queue on a weekend if you turn up later. It's mainly continental with cereal, muffins, a choice of breads etc and three hot items of beans, sausages and scrambled eggs. Also a variety of hot drinks and juices available.

Overall would definitely stay here again if we could get rooms for a similar price or even a little but more. Was a perfect base for our weekend away.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Loubielu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel has a good position although it is not very central. It is near the oxford train station.
The breakfast included in the price, has a english breakfast menu. The room is quite good, the bathroom was new with a very large shower. You can also use a free wifi.
Beds are comfortable and you can choose between the hard or soft pillow.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank five-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights during the Conservative Party Conference - it's very close to all the conference venues, the staff were extremely helpful and the rooms were spotlessly clean. A special mention for the super-powerful shower!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel is in a good position to get to the city sites. It is modern and clean and the staff polite.
You can see why it is a free breakfast as it is of poor quality and busy. Overall not bad however i do feel that it is very over priced for what you get.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DexDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booked direct with holiday inn to get their best price guarantee, however on check in was told price per room had increased by £15. Receptionist was exceptionally rude, she was unable to adequately explain this increased price, was abrupt an ill-mannered when challenged about this. We were basically told to pay up and write to complain later. Our treatment was despicable, we were told that we had misread the prices at booking, therefore it was our fault. All this was despite us having our email confirmation clearly showing the lower price. To avoid a heated argument we stepped away from the desk and called the central reservation line, only to have the matter resolved within minutes. They admitted there had been a "mistake" and it was quickly rectified. Why couldn't the hotel staff have sorted this? This whole incident spoilt our stay and we wasted precious time resolving it. However the room was nice and we did get an apology on check out but no compensation or offers of an upgrade on future stays. I wonder how many other people have been duped into paying more and then made to feel inept by a insolent receptionist.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Widnesrlfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback from your stay.

I understand that you had an issue when checking into the hotel, however, this situation was sorted out within 20 minutes of you checking in.

The abruptness and rudeness of my staff however, is something that I am genuinely sorry for and something that I find unacceptable. You have highlighted a training need that we have and I would thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I am sorry that the issue at check-in spoilt your stay at the hotel.

Kind regards

Jonathan Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were initially booked into The Palace Hotel opposite as it was recommended. We were so appalled by the Palace Hotel that we decided to check out other options. We walked into the Holiday Inn Express hoping that they could accommodate us for the night. The concierge Paul directed us to reception where we were greeted by two friendly faces - Shareen and Mark. I explained to them the horrific room that we had at the Palace Hotel and would they be able to accommodate us. They were both very empathetic and swiftly informed us that there was a room available. Paul took us up to view the room as we were yet to check out of the Palace Hotel. Room 316 on the 3rd floor is an accessible room but this just means that the shower is a 'walk-in' and I assume that there is more floor space to move around easier. The room was clean, contemporary, comfortable and well facilitated (TV, Kettle, plenty of clean towels etc.) The view was out onto Oxford Road which is busy, but the windows are so well insulated you can hardly hear a thing from the street. Breakfast is just what you need and what you would expect - Tea/coffee, toast, fresh rolls, croissants, juice, cereals, and scrambled eggs, beans and sausages. The tables are kept clean by a staff member regularly going around the restaurant and the food is well stocked.
I asked if I could have an extra hour before check out and this was agreed without fuss. I would also like to state that the website photos are exactly what you get - UNLIKE THE PALACE HOTEL!!!
All in all a very pleasant stay at the Holiday Inn Express. Made even more exceptional by the attentive, caring and very professional staff. Well done and thank you for getting us out of a pickle!

Room Tip: We saw rooms on the 3rd and 8th floor and they both looked clean and modern. You are in central Manc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RinaBina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

RinaBina,

Thank you for your 5* review of our hotel.

Were really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us & thank you for your lovely comments about our team.

It was lovely to meet you & we will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Jacki Beardmore
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I just came back from a long weekend spent in this lovely hotel with my niece. The location was perfect as it was just around the corner from Ocford Road Train Station - easy access to airport. St. Peters Tram was just a couple of blocks away. The number 250 bus across the road took you to Trafford Centre and Back. 50 bus took you to Lowry Centre. Palace theatre was just across the road. The room and the hotel were spotless. The room was a grand size with two very comfortable twin beds. I asked for more pillows and I got them straight away. The shower could fit two peope. The breakfast consisted of juices, various coffees/tea/hot choc, you could make toast, sausages, beans, scrambled egg. There were croissants and fresh fruit. The staff were all vey nice. They were a font of knowledge and very obliging when asking them for directions etc. Booking in and checking out were simple and took no time at all. I would certainly return. Thank you for a lovely stay. Noreen and Alison

Room Tip: I would ask for a high level room in a quiet area of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nors1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Noreen & Alison,

Thank you for your 5* review of our hotel.

I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and our hotel exceeded your expectations.

Our team make every effort to assist guests with information for their stay, I'm happy that they were able to assist you in making the most of yours.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel

Jacki Beardmore
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#28 of 121 in Manchester
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,879 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 121 in Manchester
1,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Address: 2 Oxford Road, Manchester M1 5QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Manchester
#39 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $93 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Oxford Road is an ideal hotel to stay if you are in Manchester for business or pleasure. Located next to Oxford Road train station the hotel has a central location with the main shopping area only 10 minutes walk away. Situated in the vibrant Oxford Road part of Manchester it is next to both the University of Manchester and Manchester Metropolitan University.Transport links are very good to both Manchester United and Manchester City as well as the National Football Museum, Palace and Opera House theatres and the Museum of Science and Industry. The hotel offers inclusive breakfast and all rooms have High Speed Internet Access as well as air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer and choice of pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Cc-Oxford Road Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing