We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Ranked #51 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Morecambe
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Went to see Robbie Williams and stayed at this hotel. Found it very central and handy for metro. Rooms were clean and very tidy. Breakfast was very good except no bacon. The staff were pleasant and polite and would defiantly stay here again. Air conditioning in room was good as it was a very hot night. 24 hr McDonalds 100 yds away very handy after concert.

Room Tip: Room 403 very good as it was a disabled room and had plenty of room and excellent shower room. On t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    445
    197
    54
    38
See reviews for
139
282
66
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

The location was very close to Manchester city centre as well as the train station and bus that drops you to and from the airport. It was also close to bars, a few restaurants and Manchester university. However, it was not worth the money we paid. Unfortunately the weekend we went to Manchester there was a festival called Parklife happening so hotels jacked up their prices. This was the cheapest one but it wasn`t even cheap. We paid almost double the price or more for 3 nights and it was just a very basic hotel. The rooms have a door connecting to another room and you can literally hear everything going on in the room next to you. The rooms also didn`t have a safety deposit box.

Breakfast was included, which I was happy about until I vomited everything up a few hours later. Not sure what upset my stomach but after that I didn`t eat breakfast from there again. Kind of a disappointment considering the amount of money we paid for the hotel and we couldn`t even enjoy the breakfast provided.

In short, if you`re looking for a place to crash because you have an early flight the next morning or are in town seeing a show at the theatre, stay here. Other than that, it`s not worth your money. Spend the extra bit and go somewhere more pleasurable.

Room Tip: Request for a room high up because of the bars in the area. Can get very very noisy and a lot of peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear mzj3nn,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I truly apologize for the not up to par experience you had during you stay with us. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel before and as we were going to manchester again last weekend. We booked 2 adjacent rooms. We were allocated rooms 909 and 910 on the ninth floor. We had a lovely day shopping and went to the theatre in the evening. Got back to hotel and had a few drinks in the bar before going off to have a good nights sleep. How wrong we were. Got into bed and could hear a very loud banging noise. I laid in bed and the noise happened every 34 seconds and no way could we sleep. Telephoned down to reception and was told someone would come and see what the problem was. Waited 20minutes and no one appeared so rang reception again and was told it was the hot water pump and they would come and turn it off. Someone came and did just that at midnight
Ht so we turned in for a good nights sleep. Then we were woken at 6am by an even louder noise that sounded like someone had a pneumatic drill in the wall. Rang reception and were told we must be very light sleepers. My daughter asked if we could use another room and the manager came up with a key to another room. I asked if he was aware of this problem and he said no one had complained before well that I cannot believe. This spoilt what should have been a wonderful weekend. So if you stay there don't stay in room 909.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed, with several friends, in June. I must admit I was amazed at how good this hotel was! Firstly, we only paid 30 quid each and I would have happily paid double that. It was spotless everywhere, to the point it looked like a brand new hotel or just recently renovated.

The rooms were very nice, clean, spacious and had a floor to ceiling window. The shower was huge and just the right power. The bed was firm but not too firm and there was a choice of pillows.

It was only about a ten minute walk to all the shops and the centre. The theatres were literally down the street. Excellent location.

My only gripe was when we finished breakfast, we were finishing off a coffee and we were told by a member of staff to move because other people needed the seating. Which is fine but they could have asked in a better manner. There wasn't a massive choice of cooked breakfast but it wasn't a massive problem. It wouldn't put me off if I stayed here again.

Summary: If I was to stay in Manchester again, I would have no hesitation in booking here, especially at the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCautiousTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in June for one night. Was only expecting a very basic B and B sort of hotel. How wrong I was. Air conditioning in the room was brilliant. Large rooms comfortable beds. Even though it was a Saturday night I heard no noise outside from the clubs just the odd door shutting in the corridor but clearly this cannot be helped. Staff extremely friendly and always ready to help with a smile on their face. Thanks guys! Will definatly stop here again if I'm in the area :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammyCastiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The rooms were perfectly functional, well appointed and comfortable.

There was no wardrobe just a rail and hangers near the kettle. The bed was firm. The 4 pillows were labelled Firm and Soft - a lovely touch, but just a shame the pillows were on the thin side.

The bathroom was clean and a decent size. it was a bit light on amenities (offering only a shower gel and hand wash), but there was a note offering guest additional free amenities from the reception (like toothbrush, shaving gel etc.).

The included breakfast was probably one of the worst I have had. All the 'hot items' were cold, despite being under 'hot lamps'. The scrambled eggs had the look and texture of cous-cous (dry and sand-like).

Overall a comfortable hotel in a nice central lcation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonnywaheed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear sonnywaheed,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel.

While we are pleased to hear you've noted our rooms were perfectly functional, well appointed and comfortable, we would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations in regards to the breakfast served during your stay. We can assure you that your experience is not indicative of the quality we are known to provide.

Nevertheless, I have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel was just what we needed in a central location with bars and restaurants close by.
Parking was discounted at a nearby car park and was secure and time could be extended if needed. The accommodation was comfortable and quiet with plenty of room and good, modern bathroom with walk-in shower. Tea making facilities were much appreciated. Room booking was for three adults and the double and sofa bed were more than adequate and better than we expected. Good welcome on reception and staff showed a good interest in our reason for visiting Manchester (Concert). Breakfast was very good standard continental breakfast with limited cooked options. Only criticism was that we were rushed from our table by a surly member of staff. We were aware that it was busy but hadn't finished our breakfast when we were pushed to leave.
Overall very good stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightspark24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.2 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#48 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Address: 2 Oxford Road, Manchester M1 5QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Manchester
#39 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#39 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Oxford Road is an ideal hotel to stay if you are in Manchester for business or pleasure. Located next to Oxford Road train station the hotel has a central location with the main shopping area only 10 minutes walk away. Situated in the vibrant Oxford Road part of Manchester it is next to both the University of Manchester and Manchester Metropolitan University.Transport links are very good to both Manchester United and Manchester City as well as the National Football Museum, Palace and Opera House theatres and the Museum of Science and Industry. The hotel offers inclusive breakfast and all rooms have High Speed Internet Access as well as air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer and choice of pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Cc-Oxford Road Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing