We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central, spacious, comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Ranked #51 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Central, spacious, comfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked a double and got a triple - with nice pullout sofa bed. The bathroom was nice, the shower was lovely and the room was clean, as well as large for the price. Our friend stayed in a nearby hotel and paid the same price, but was very jealous of our room! Breakfast could have been a little better - as there was no bacon with the cooked breakfast and the scrambled eggs were from powder. However, excellent fruit and coffee, as well as cereal and pastries. You couldn't really ask for more considering the central location and fair price paid.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th floor - no noise pollution and we looked out onto the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nezvanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    444
    197
    54
    38
See reviews for
139
282
66
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

THe hotel is pretty much bang in the middle of manchester and near to alot of restuarants. Hotel staff friendly and hlepful and bar area very comfortable. The room I had was a good size with a really clean bathroom.

Two issues I did have was the air con came on by itself so woke up in the morning freezing, and the second issue was outside there are a few bars with loud thumping music which was going on until about 11:30pm. Although this was nothing that warranted a call to reception it was still a slight distraction when trying to relax before a busy day.

Room Tip: Due to noise from bar try not to get a room facing the railway bridge as the bars are quite close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Jim O,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the outside noise and the air conditioning. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millport18
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

This a nice hotel, very clean and with decent rooms. My bed was just worn out, soft and spongy and uncomfortable. The breakfast was the usual HIE fare - acceptable is the best you can say rally. Staff were very pleasant and very helpful. Would go back but not to the room I was in so that I might get a better bed - it was 804 by the way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millport18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Millport18,

We greatly value your comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is good to know you found our hotel clean. I have noted that you experienced inconvenience and discomfort with the condition of the bed during your stay and would like to extend my most sincere apologies for this. We have taken note of your comments and your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and recommendation.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
634 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

What a great example of how cheap doesnt have to be cheap. The HI brand have really got their act together here. very friendly check in service was a great start and the room was superb. Great space, great shower and lots of desk space if you need it. Lots of restaurants and bars near by and walking distance from Oxfor Road station.

Still cant believe it was an HI Express and the low price paid.

Good work guys!

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Comfortable stay, relatively cheap, ideal location, easy access to public transportation, friendly, service-minded . However, only limited items for breakfast. Walking distance to the market and business centres and important museums: Manchester museum, Museum of Science and Industry and so on

Room Tip: Rooms in higher floors opposite to road are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nairreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days in May. We got to our hotel at 9 and the rooms were not ready yet. They tagged our bags and held them for us while we went on an excursion. When we got back, all was ready and they even asked if we wanted any changes to our room, which we did and they made, all were happy! It was close to the station which is a few min's from the main rail in Piccadilly. The staff were very helpful with all questions and helping us around the city. All in all it was an excellent stay and will stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimigidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

I'm happy to hear that our staff we're able to assist you with your room preference and information about the city.

I hope you'll be staying with us again next time you visit.

Kind Regards

Jacki Beardmore
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Well finished air conditioned room with a good cityscape view (I was on 7th floor). The breakfast was of a good standard and included hot buffet options. The hotel is well positioned for Oxford Road railway station which is an easy connection to Picadilly.

A couple of minor niggles. Flashing LED on the in room smoke detector kept catching my eye as I was trying to get to sleep. Despite being 7 floors up, there was quite a bit of street noise. Better glazing would help...

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay.

I am glad you found our central location suited your visit.

I hope that the niggles that you experienced won't deter you from staying with us in the future.

Kind Regards

Jacki Beardmore
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
0.9 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.2 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#48 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Address: 2 Oxford Road, Manchester M1 5QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Manchester
#39 Business Hotel in Manchester
#39 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Oxford Road is an ideal hotel to stay if you are in Manchester for business or pleasure. Located next to Oxford Road train station the hotel has a central location with the main shopping area only 10 minutes walk away. Situated in the vibrant Oxford Road part of Manchester it is next to both the University of Manchester and Manchester Metropolitan University.Transport links are very good to both Manchester United and Manchester City as well as the National Football Museum, Palace and Opera House theatres and the Museum of Science and Industry. The hotel offers inclusive breakfast and all rooms have High Speed Internet Access as well as air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer and choice of pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Cc-Oxford Road Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing