We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Ranked #56 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“business traveller”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel is superbly located, but thats where the praise ends. I requested a heater for my room but the staff at reception were unaccommodating. I was advised that heating switch for my room was deactivated. I returned to reception to remind them of this issue. I ended up being move to 2 different rooms, all with no heating, and this matter was never resolved. How can they charge me £150 a night, and not be able to provide guests with heaters?

The temperature of the water was luke warm at best.
The shower drain in my room was clogged up, and water was overspilling outside the cubicle, leaving the bathroom floor extremely slippery and very dangerous to walk on.

Breakfast was unenjoyable. The bread was stale with mold around the edges, and the croissants tasted as if they had been reheated over and over again. Some of the mugs, bowls and spoons were visibly dirty, and it was possible to taste what the guest before had consumed.

Besides its location, this hotel is massively overpriced and offers poor value for money. For the same money, I'd recommend staying at the Radisson or Midland Hotels which are further up the road.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Keith S,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving feedback about our hotel. It is pleasing to know that our location worked suitably for your needs. However, I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the condition of the room accommodation that you were given and breakfast which is not up to par. I appreciate you letting us know about these unsatisfactory circumstances as this is our best means of improving our efforts.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    460
    208
    57
    42
See reviews for
150
292
66
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Graham and will were fantastic in sorting out a room for myself and my colleague when we arrived and was told that we were not booked in, they went out of their way to make sure we were ok and assured us that they would sort it out for us, which they did, they are an asset to your company and their customer service was amazing, the only thing lacking was no bacon at breakfast

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilleybet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

One of the worst experiences ever. Let me list out the only positive of this hotel - The Location!

We were given a room which was for the disabled. When we told them to change it the front desk staff was rude enough to say that they wont do anything about it. The toilet resembled a swimming pool after taking a shower as the drainage was clogged. They did not even send someone to solve the problem.

The check in and check out process was another nightmare thanks to the rude front desk staff. When we requested them to keep our luggage for a couple of hours they told us that they would charge us for the same.

Ridiculously rude staff. I wouldnt recommend this hotel to my anyone.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at any cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikramogale14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear vikramogale14,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Manchester, England

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A great place to stay, whether going to a business dinner or the theatre. It's so nice to be able to "fall off" the train and land in such an hospitable place. Despite being deservably business at times, the staff are always helpful and make you feel like they care. The rooms are excellent as well as excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnH456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed overnight when going to see a show at the Palace Theatre. Hotel was ideally located, being a stone's throw from the theatre and the parking was only round the corner. The room was great, beautifully clean and everything you need. Only niggle was there was only one lift working for 10 floors (and we were on the 10th floor!). Also the fruit selection for breakfast was quite poor, could have done with a proper fruit salad. Other than that, highly recommend for a city break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This hotel is very, very close to Manchester Oxford Rd station and as others have noted, overlooks the Vodka Revolution bar and several nightclubs.

I count myself lucky that I got a bedroom on the fourth floor on the opposite side - my colleague looked terrible the next morning as he was in room 402, which might as well have been situated in the toilets at Revolution. Noise apparently went on until well after 3am.

Beware, no car park - the 'recommended' car park is about 4 mins walk away, although there is a very small discount applied.

Facilities and rooms themselves all good, although some incompetent staff member had checked somebody else in under my name and given my nice room away - hence why I was left with this complete stranger's room which had been made up for four and had the sofa bed taking up half of the room.

Standard Holiday Inn Express - but watch out for the hiccups.

Room Tip: Don't get 402!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matteh-2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear matteh-2006,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. It is great that you recognize our convenient location and facilities. Please accept my sincerest apology if your stay was negatively affected by the level of service received from our staff, car park area, and level of noise. Rest assured this feedback will be shared with the appropriate department that can help us monitor and improve the quality and services we offer to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to the opportunity to service you better in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed here for a night out, it was a standard hotel with clean rooms and basic facilities. The chain is very reliable usually and we were not disappointed. I would stay again. Fantastic location easily accessible!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#46 of 118 in Manchester
1,652 reviews
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#7 of 118 in Manchester
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Address: 2 Oxford Road, Manchester M1 5QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Manchester
#39 Business Hotel in Manchester
#39 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Oxford Road is an ideal hotel to stay if you are in Manchester for business or pleasure. Located next to Oxford Road train station the hotel has a central location with the main shopping area only 10 minutes walk away. Situated in the vibrant Oxford Road part of Manchester it is next to both the University of Manchester and Manchester Metropolitan University.Transport links are very good to both Manchester United and Manchester City as well as the National Football Museum, Palace and Opera House theatres and the Museum of Science and Industry. The hotel offers inclusive breakfast and all rooms have High Speed Internet Access as well as air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer and choice of pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Cc-Oxford Road Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing