We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay,Can't wait to revisit.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Ranked #56 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay,Can't wait to revisit.”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night whilst visiting the Manchester Arena. Upon arrival we were greeted by smart, friendly and helpful staff on the front desk. The young man Mark who checked us in, made us feel at ease on our first visit to Manchester. He provided us with maps of the city and explained about the bus routes and free buses.

The room was excellent value for money and we couldn't fault it.
Breakfast the next morning was sufficient and as one of us has special dietry requirements there was still enough choice to accomodate this.

The hotel is within walking distance of the city centre and we can't wait to revisit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stokeoatcake_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    464
    211
    60
    43
See reviews for
153
297
67
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while we went to a gig down the road. The location is good, as we got off the train walked down a reoad and it was there.

The room was big with nice beds, a tv that works, good bathroom and great customer service.

The breakfast lacked alot. We got down for breakfast at around 8am on the first morning, there was nothing left, although breakfast started at 7:30 till 9am, so within half an hour all that was left was some beans, dried bits of fried toast and a few sausages, when asked if anymore breakfast was to be put out the reply was no.

The selection of teas and coffees were okay, so for breakfast (the extra £11 we paid!!!) I had a slice of toast and a cup of cranberry and raspberry tea. Good job theres a starbucks across the road.

The morning of the day we were due to get our train home, we got down a bit later, due to having a late night. There was no breakfast in sight, only a few tea bags left and hardly any milk. So again for the £11 extra I had paid for breakfast, I had a slice of toast with no butter, a bit of jam and a very strong tea as there was no milk left and no one to ask.

Room Tip: Wake up early, and get breakfast!!! Once it's gone, it's gone!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomnom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Arrived later than planned but still before 11pm. Travelling alone on business, was informed that they "were trying to ensure that I could stay at the hotel" in my booked room( I am assuming it was prepaid but as not booked by me I can't be sure). This is not what I wanted to hear after enduring a very long delay courtesy of Transpennine services. They managed to find me a room (803)
I don't know whether it was the last room in the hotel but it was a "disabled" room and the bathroom (wetroom) flooded when I used the shower( with the curtain) It didn't drain and I had to use one of the towels to forge a dry path to the sink to collect my toothbrush.
I would agree with other comments about the breakfast

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Modern hotel in central Manchester.

Stayed a few times for work. Like the hotel rooms, nice and modern. Plenty of space in the rooms.

Located lovely chinese takeaway nearby for evening meal.

Breakfast is edible but nothing special. Opted for croissants - which were obviously straight out the packet and not warmed through.

Would definitely recommend to a friend,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modtraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked last minute for 1 night the day before arriving. Excellent price £69. Lots of NCP car parking available - we stayed for 22hours in Manchester & it cost £15 - so quite reasonable we thought.
Hotel is in a great location about 8min walk to the centre & 10mins from the IMAX cinema we visited on the evening. Good location for food too - lots of mainstream restaurant locally on Oxford Road.
Room was excellent. Had everything we needed - big shower & new looking bathroom. Decent bed, sofa bed & TV. We had a room on the top floor (floor 10). Had a view over a demolition site - but not an issue. Oxford Road is pretty central so if you're a light sleeper this hotel is not for you.
Husband slept fine, I however didn't sleep to great sadly - noise as the only issue.
Breakfast was ok - nothing special, just your basic cereals, mini crossiants, muffins, rolls, fruit, etc. Sausages, bacon and scrambled egg doesn't look too appetising so we stuck to cereals & a hot drink.
Overall would return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room - there are 10 floors. Higher the room the quieter it is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LNB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here as my hubby and myself were going to a gig at the academy along oxford road..was convenient and price was ok including breakfast..however, the breakfast isnt very good..choice is limited and not very tasty..had stayed here before but did not have breakfast that time..would stay here again but give breakfast a miss or stick to cereal and toast..coffee is out of a machine and is weak ..the rooms are tidy, clean and comfy..suits the occasion but wouldnt stay here any other time than going to gigs

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at this perfectly located hotel before and will use it again. The hotel is situated next to oxford road station and is simply a stair case walk away.. Nicely located close to transport of all kinds and a short walk into the heart of the city. You'll find plenty of student type bars close by and a handful of chain restaurants to suit should you wish to remain close by.

The hotel itself is clean, the rooms spacious enough with all the comforts required for a short stay, hair dryers, toiletries and clean towels. The bed was comfy and the room clean and a well presented bathroom with good large sized shower. My only slight issue was the air con which appeared to be loud / faulty but this should not reflect the hotel badly as these things happen. It was reported and i'm sure it'll be sorted asap.

The hotel facilities suited the type of clients i imagine, nice basic bar reasonably priced, buffet style breakfast served in a clean and white dining area. Staff where friendly and efficient.

My only issue with the Holiday inn express experience is check out times at 11am.. Being some one that likes a lie in a 12:00 checkout adopted by most over chains would make them a more preferred option when choosing a place to stay.

Room Tip: For some good food and quality drinks head towards the student area and visit the deaf institute, re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#47 of 118 in Manchester
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#35 of 118 in Manchester
2,813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.3 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 118 in Manchester
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Address: 2 Oxford Road, Manchester M1 5QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Manchester
#39 Business Hotel in Manchester
#39 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Oxford Road is an ideal hotel to stay if you are in Manchester for business or pleasure. Located next to Oxford Road train station the hotel has a central location with the main shopping area only 10 minutes walk away. Situated in the vibrant Oxford Road part of Manchester it is next to both the University of Manchester and Manchester Metropolitan University.Transport links are very good to both Manchester United and Manchester City as well as the National Football Museum, Palace and Opera House theatres and the Museum of Science and Industry. The hotel offers inclusive breakfast and all rooms have High Speed Internet Access as well as air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer and choice of pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Cc-Oxford Road Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing