We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Nearby Hotels
$133
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$216
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$159
$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$87
$72
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$86
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$94
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$107
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$105
$100
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$106
$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
$109
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,186)
Filter reviews
1,187 results
Traveler rating
340
499
229
68
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
499
229
68
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrebeanspalace theatrehi expressthe sofa bedtrain stationfree breakfastlarge showerconvenient locationthe air conditioningwould stay againmin walkstayed here for one nightgreat showerbudget hotelcooked breakfastyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
891 - 896 of 1,187 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

hello,my experience at this hotel is almost 10/10.central located,helpfull recptionist,room very clean,bathroom excellent and big,lifts good clean and fast,very good check in & out,baggages left at the reception store and all tagged for secuirity reasons,breakfast quite good & all fresh to eat (the only negative note,no bacon & cooked tomatoes) but to be fair with them lot of food & fruit to choose like,apples,pinapple,yougurts,cakes etc.another negative note is that the internet/wifi is 5 stg a day but on the whole very very good hotel to stay.defenitly go again there! well done to all(please note;_ ask for offers/discounts with the receptionists) they will guide you well) even for bus,trains,etc....

Room Tip: higher floors from 8th to 10th definetly more quite and look like new !
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for your kind words in the review of our hotel.

We have a number of offers and discounts at local restaurants and attractions and will be glad to pass these onto our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Good sized rooms but inevitably, quite small as it's in the city centre. The shower was great and the bathroom was really clean. The toothbrush I requested (I'd forgotten mine) was actually good quality and I could use it again.
Staff knew what they were doing but the lift was annoying - you need to use your room key to operate it. Having said that, I suppose it's an effective security measure.
The breakfast provided was appalling! They do croissants but I think bricks would have been softer and easier to eat. In terms of warm breakfast, scrambled eggs, pork sausages and baked beans were on offer, but no bacon! Given that I was hungover - shocking!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highstandards1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay.

I am surprised that you had problems with our croissants, they are normally very soft. Unfortunately, Holiday Inn Express does not offer bacon for breakfast. Although this could no doubt help with a number of people's hangovers!

Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed for one night in manchester to see pearl jam at MEN arena.
Hotel is an actual stones throw away from oxford st stn, and walking distance from city centre and MEN.
Hotel staff very friendly and efficient room and en suite both very modern and comfortable,bed extremely comfortable, what I pay most attention to and noticed most was the cleanliness throughout the hotel, immaculate.
Breakfast was a help yourself buffet style which was pretty average but not terrible, all in all an enjoyable stay in a super clean hotel in a good location,would stay again.
We booked our stay through laterooms.com and paid 55 pounds for a double room great value for money

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puntapirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay.

I am pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and found the hotel so convenient.

Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Hotel location is perfect in city centre, and within easy reach. Rooms are clean, good size.
Did not try their breakfast but outside the hotel there are some cafes and sandwich bars.
The only down side in the hotel is that if someone coming to visit you you have to go down and allow them into the lift, it only works with a Card. First day, the staff said if your confirmed your guest by phone we would let them into the left, so next day my guest came told receptionist to call but he refused and said I had to come down. Staff was not behaving at all and his answers were unacceptable as if he was making his own rules. When asked about the previous day staff and why he gave us wrong info, he said he was a trainee and did not know the exact policy. Regardless of all this it is a bad policy if I have a guest why would I go all the way down just to let them into the lift!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you found the hotel nice.

Due to our central location and that our reception desk is in the basement we have added the card activation to the lift to provide greater guest security in the hotel. This can be slightly inconvenient if guests have guests, but we will not issue non residents with keys to access the lift and the bedroom floors. This added security measure stops non residents entering the hotel without permission and causing a disturbance.

Thank you for your comments regarding this measure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was our first time staying at this hotel and we were very pleasantly surprised. The location was excellent and there was a paying car park right behind the hotel. The hotel does offer a discount to people staying there. The hotel itself is brand new, or at least appears to be. It is very clean and the rooms are very well equipped and presented. The hotel is in a bit of a 'student' area with lots of bars and clubs around but we weren't bothered by any noise at all. Staff also very helpful. Would throughly recommend and would stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEX-Oxford-Rd, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay. The hotel is in fact now over 2 years old but thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews