We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Comfort in the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
Ranked #54 of 119 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed March 3, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel after booking a last minute night in Manchester due to changed plans. We have stayed in a number of hotels in the city and although we have been previously spoilt for choice regarding locations (having stayed at hotels facing onto Piccadilly Gardens) this is still a great location in the city centre.

The hotel itself is very comfortable and felt modern inside. The lifts are slightly awkward to use with a keycard system and at busy times you could be waiting a while. Staff were standardly friendly, nothing which really stood out. The only negative of the stay was the very limited space in the restaurant area, which resulted in people having to take their trays of breakfast to their room or indeed people hovering over your table waiting for someone to leave. The queue for food was also quite unacceptable; obviously you expect to wait a little time on a Sunday morning right before Christmas but the breakfast/restaurant area really isn't fit for purpose.

Overall it was an enjoyable stay and although we would use it again, we would definately investigate other options in the city before booking again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanDeerskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel in October and finding it a pleasant place to stay, even though the lifts are a bit of a pain during the busy checking out period, I was still prepared to stay again as it is a modern, clean hotel and convenient for the city but this time I was astounded to find during my last stay 17th February, that you are now charged £3 a bag to leave luggage after check out. I feel that this should be known before booking as it could make you think again about staying here.

Room Tip: higher floors are less noisy from the outside and easier to get lifts for
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essexladyRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I stayed here for one night for business. I missed the last connection at Piccadilly so walked, which didn't take long.
The guy at reception was very pleasant and chatty which was helpful after suffering Virgin trains.
My room was on the first floor (101) and overlooked the stream at the side. On the other side of the stream is an outdoor seating/smoking area for a bar, which I can imagine being a pain at the weekends or on summer nights. However, this was February in Manchester so it was chucking it down and there was nobody there.
The room was pretty standard stuff. There's no wardrobe, and a small rail takes its place. Fine for me. There was no bath which was a bit of a let down as I wanted one. HI expresses rarely have baths though.
There was also no iron in the room, which was a bit odd.
In general though, the room was fine and comfortable enough.
Breakfast is nothing special. Some basic cooked breakfast which didn't tempt me, but there's toast an cereals too. Again, standard HI Express stuff.

If you're looking for the hotel on Google street view, it's not built yet and the marked location is wrong. It's on the West side of the road just South of the bridge, opposite Starbucks.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anonym0us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We wanted a budget weekend and got a pretty good deal on this hotel. This usually means reviewers are more lenient; however, because of the location- and the city centre hotels are pricy, I think the normal cost is reasonable.Besides location, the main plus is that this is newish hotel and the rooms were clean, modern and of good quality. The bathroom was especially good, with a huge shower. Unfortunately, since the seals were poorly-fitting, the latter leaked badly, occasioning a mopup after every shower. The rooms are sealed- you can't open a window, which might put some people off. Comfy bed, nice linen- the room was fine. The sticking point- literally- was the lift. At peak breakfast time, you had to wait ages for one to come, even though there were two. They seemed to stop on every floor- even though no-one was waiting! When we left, there were crowds of people with suitcases trying to escape having checked out- reception is downstairs! The breakfast was OK- plentiful and basic food- sausages, scrambled egg, beans, toast and cereal etc. but we were happy because we hadn't realised it was included! I couldn't fault the staff, who were polite and helpful, particularly in sorting out some joker who spent his evening hoax- calling the residents, telling them to keep the noise down! We would use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Take comfy shoes if you want to slog up the stairs to avoid the lifts!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edgell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

The view, through full length windows, from our room on the 9th floor over the city was fantastic. However there were some issues:
- the room heating/air conditioning control unit kept crashing after just a few minutes. Obviously, the windows did not open, so the room became very stuffy.
-there were 2 lifts but one of them was out of action on both days. The remaining lift was overcrowded in the mornings, with queues waiting. Even the stairs were busy.
-Breakfast was hopelessly overcrowded after around 0930.
-The legs on the bed collapsed. No! Not what you're thinking by the way, and no I'm not overweight and nor is my partner.
On the plus side, the shower was the best I have used in a hotel of this price, anywhere.
The breakfast, when we eventually got it, was very adequate and the staff everywhere were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickw512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Spent one night here with small children. Nice comfortable rooms (although don't like the apparant policy of 1 pillow per customer). We asked for more pillows but told they could not be provided. That aside, lovely bathroom, nice quiet room on 7 floor - good breakfast and very handy for Palace Theatre. Air conditioned room - handy ice machine in basement

Room Tip: Use the mini Sainsbury up the road for drinks, snacks etc
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarell96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed for a night and got an excellent rate through hotwire ( £38 for two people in a double room with breakfast). Must admit cost was high on my list of priorities, therefore we chose not to spend any more than this.

The hotel itself is clean, and very new. Randomly the reception is downstairs and when you walk into the lobby you need to get in the lift or take a jump down about two flights of stairs.

Check in was a bit of a pain in the rear because when we arrived there were two sets of people checking in in front of us, and the only member of staff on duty was looking after the bar, and the check in. It was nothing dreadful, but just a bit annoying that there weren't enough staff available.

However, we were checked in quickly and the assistance we received was okay. They rang a taxi for us when we only asked for a number, and I felt this was a nice touch. However, we weren't given any instructions on how to use the lift which was a pain in the rear. ( you have to insert your key card and when you do it only allows you to select the floor you need to go to)

The room was nice, not overly spacious, but well decorated. The shower was wonderful and there was a little sofa in the room which was really useful.

However, the bed was not fun, we called it a tigger in the end. The mattress was really really bouncy. So, if one of you moved in the night the other one knew about it and inevitably woke up. Hence, we didn't have a very comfortable night and woke up unrested.

I loved the breakfast. Choices of juice, water, coffee, tea. Loads of cereals and muffins or croissants. In addition to this there was scrambled egg, sausages, beans and toast/bread. My husband did moan about the lack of bacon, but for me this was no biggie.

All in all if we got a deal cheaper than the one we had this time we would probably stay again, but if we didn't we would probably try somewhere else as it just didn't tick our boxes.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bongokoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#47 of 119 in Manchester
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#36 of 119 in Manchester
2,854 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.1 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 119 in Manchester
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road

Address: 2 Oxford Road, Manchester M1 5QA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Manchester
#39 Business Hotel in Manchester
#39 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $104 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Oxford Road is an ideal hotel to stay if you are in Manchester for business or pleasure. Located next to Oxford Road train station the hotel has a central location with the main shopping area only 10 minutes walk away. Situated in the vibrant Oxford Road part of Manchester it is next to both the University of Manchester and Manchester Metropolitan University.Transport links are very good to both Manchester United and Manchester City as well as the National Football Museum, Palace and Opera House theatres and the Museum of Science and Industry. The hotel offers inclusive breakfast and all rooms have High Speed Internet Access as well as air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, hair dryer and choice of pillows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Cc-Oxford Road Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing