We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“omg never again!!!”
Review of Ciao Bella - CLOSED

Ciao Bella
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
bolton
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“omg never again!!!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I went with my wife last nite on a night out,on first impressions it looked okay from the outside and we decided to give it a try.as we went inside it seemed nice and clean with people eating at 3/4 tables.The waitess came over and was polite showing us to our table,but thats were it stopped!
we had to call her back over to order drinks and i ended up having to light the candle on the table myself.to me its also the small things that matter when u walk into a restaurant.ie asking would you like a drink as soon as you sit down and lighting a candle on the table!we ordered a garlic bread to see us thru while we waited for our main course which was lasagne and pollo crema.
I was really looking forward to my chicken,so when it came it looked well presented.but after the first bite there was something not right and i had to spit it out onto my plate,i had another try and again the taste was AWFUL!!trust me this was not CHICKEN!!!
My wife called the waitress over and explained that the so called chicken was not cooked,she apologised and took it away.the manager came over to explain that the chicken was fresh today and he had prepared it earlier.when my meal came back,cooked this time,the chicken still tasted the same and i left it.we ordered cheese cake and choc fudge cake for dessert and ive had better from farmfoods.we left feeling extremely disappointed and ripped off!!
We are giving the whole experience a 2 out 10 and that is being generous.YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!
This is the first actual review ive ever done,but i felt our experience at this restaurant was that bad we have to share it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank aidan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    75
    46
    56
    155
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“I'm not sure where all these bad reviews are coming from.”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a living social deal and read the reviews after getting the voucher but before going so my expectations were low to say the least. What I was presented with was an authentic atmosphere and great food. We had garlic bread to start and pasta main dishes which were really really good. Ok so the cutlery doesn't match which has been brought up in previous reviews but that doesn't really matter to me and in no way affected my experience. All in all I would say if you want a rustic atmosphere and pretty decent food give this place a try. We loved it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alyheald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rustic fun”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Me and my husband got a group on deal for here.
We liked it.
Yes it's rustic, the waiters are very friendly the food is absolutely fine not the best we have ever had but it still tastes nice - garlic bread good - wine good a real bargain we would go back !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstyr950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful!!!”
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I purchased a deal on Groupon and was looking forward to a nice Italian meal.....so disappointing! As we walked into the 'restaurant' the manager was not very inviting and showed us to our seat...it was empty! The smell as we walked in was musty and the surroundings dingy! Glancing over at the kitchen I saw dirty tea towels and old frying pans stacked high. We decided to have a margarita pizza to play it safe...the base was uncooked and cheese was plastic...not authentic Italian! The plates were chipped,table cloth dusty and the manager sat and watched tv as we ate! Needless to say we drank our wine quickly and made for the door! It was dingy, creepy and dirty. Never again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“OK if you're on an internet deal”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I think when we go to a restaurant we look for good food, pleasant surroundings and these days value for money.This was the 2nd visit us on a Living Social deal pizza/pasta + glass of wine each for £10. So that's excellent value, pizza's were OK if slightly on the bland side. I like the surroundings it has an authentic Italian feel to it but I can see why people think it is tired and a little shabby. The drinks menu which sit on the tables permanently hadn't changed from our last visit 18 months ago and they do need replacing because they are a little tatty. If you're on a deal go for it if you're not you will probably find other restaurants that are more modern,with brighter lighting,better quality pizza and better VFM. My wife had a tiramisu it was OK but again(I sampled it)it was bland and I've certainly had better. The waiter/owner is typically Italian, you respond to him and he will be very pleasant with you. I would go back but only on a deal!.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 6112pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciao Bella also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing