We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roomzzz Manchester City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roomzzz Manchester City
Ranked #7 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Smart, central hotel - across the road from 'Red & Hot' in Chinatown, 3 minutes walk to he (excellent) art gallery. The staff are great, the rooms large, comfortable and well equipped
What more can you ask?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aarrgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    323
    59
    22
    16
See reviews for
89
720
52
168
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Myself and partner stayed at Roomz, Manchester in October 2012.. Everything clean, presentable and modern. Easy to find and the carpark where you get adjusted parking fees as a guest of Roomz was very close to the hotel. Greeting at the hotel was pleasant and efficient.
Only flaw i could find was that there was no full length mirror in the apartment. cant say about the breakfast as we bought our own to cook in the well catered studio kitchen within the apartment. beds were very comfortable as well (once we fell into them!) - hence why we missed breakfast!

otherwise i expect to stay with this company again. actually i'd seek them out!!

Room Tip: all aprtments are individualised but i imagine standards are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psychb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Stayed at Roomzzz in Manchester city centre for 2 nights at the end of June 2012. The location of the hotel was brilliant; right on the edge of china town, bars and shops all close. The room was modern and there was a wonderful double power shower and double sinks in the bathroom. It was equipped well with Apple mac in room and the kitchen was also fully equipped, although I didin't use this!

I've read reviews from people complaining regarding noise from outside. I can honestly say that I had a good 2 nights sleep and didn't hear a thing, even though it was a weekend, my alcohol consumption could account this though and as the apartments are in a busy area I could see noise being a problem. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahloumas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here recently again in the penthouse, was our first time in the penthouse and room was awesome!!

Excellent value for money £110 !!!

** Regarding noise **

Hotel is located in CENTRAL MANCHESTER

These next few months students are back to Uni so The infamous freshers week is on!!

I find it unfair to moan about the external noise of any Hotel especially when they are in the city centre.

Hotel staff excellent
Needed extra pillows bought quickly
Check in/out excellent
Housekeepers doing a fab job
All in all a good stay.

If you dont want to hear any external noise drive 3 hours North to rural scotland and stay in a remote cottage. I would just like to reiterate the external noise is minimal, everytime we stay we hardly hear any guests (sometimes we think were alone!!)

Nice feature to have a kitchennette excellent for cooking..

Highly reccomended.

Just slightly annoyed by snobish comments from people who have never been to 3rd world countries to appreciate what excellent standards we have in england ,& who also expect the world to revolve around them & there bubble!!

Will be back soon guyssss !!!!! ;)

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Solo1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel does not deserve to be rated as the fourth best hotel in Manchester. It is a nice property, and has been sympathetically restored. The room was quite big and the bed was very comfortable. The inclusion of a kitchen is largely unnecessary unless you're staying here for a few nights, and it's worth bearing in mind that there is no mini bar or water in the room, so the 'shop' next to reception is a must. There is no beer or wine though, so find a proper shop nearby if you want to stock up.

There is a massive and insurmountable problem with this hotel though, and that is its location on Princess St in the heart of Chinatown and on a very busy thoroughfare. I have read previous comments from the hotel owner that tried to explain away the noise on previous visits, on the basis that it was a busy weekend caused by students returning to university. That's just silly. It's busy because Manchester is a busy city. Either the soundproofing is inadequate or the type of building is unable to keep street noise at bay. I had a very bad night's sleep, caused by drunken revellers outside until around 4.30am. This isn't helped of course by the location adjacent to Chinatown, as the restaurants typically stay open until the early hours, and the casino directly opposite stays open even later. Don't stay here if you want to sleep.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guntars T, General Manager at Roomzzz Manchester City, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Jonathan M,

Thank you for taking time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I was happy to read that you liked our hotel and you found our apartments comfortable. Majority of our guests do appreciate the presents of a kitchen in the room allowing to cook the desired meal or order a takeaway. With to regards alcohol beverages, indeed we do not sell beer or wine as we don’t hold the license.

I have to agree with you that Manchester city is a busy location and us being located in the heart of Manchester city center exposes us to higher noise levels. However please allow me to disagree with you and reiterate that the last couple weekends have been lot noisier than usual and this has been reflected in the last few reviews on Tripadvisor. As you will see from all the earlier reviews only few comment external noise issues.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and poor night sleep you experienced.

Kind regards,
Guntars Tiskus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed on the 5th Floor for a romantic getaway in our old stomping ground of Manchester:
Liked:
Friendly helpful staff, excellently equipped apartment with modern styling and kitchenette that you could cook in.
Felt like a proper base not just a hotel room
Sense of space and proximity to Manchester city and night life
Needs work:
Noise levels are high due to on-street location and age of building - agree with previous posters that double glazing may be needed but equally remember living in Manchester is noisier than smaller towns
Had issues with the Imac not really working despite changing batteries on wireless Keyboard and Mouse but excellent Wifi signal meant not a huge problem.
Grab and Go breakfast was OK but would like a cereal/Milk choice (guess have to buy from pantry or nearby convenience stores)
Overall:
Loved it and would stay again

Room Tip: Get higher floors to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBusiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guntars T, General Manager at Roomzzz Manchester City, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear SBusiness,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am very pleased to hear that you liked our hotel and staff.

I apologise for any disturbance due to street noise. As explained on previous reviews unfortunately the last two weekends have been exceptionally noisy due to students returning back to city and most of the Manchester city center hotels have experiencing problems.
Since taking over the hotel, we have carried out extensive soundproofing works over the past years to remedy the external noise, and have had our works monitored and approved by building control as despite the Victorian Warehouse structure we were limited as to what works could and could not take place. The results of these works have had a positive response by our guests and I can only apologise that you had been disturbed by the noise off the street.

Hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards,
Guntars Tiskus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goostrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Very nice, equipped with all the essentials, plus high tech equipment (ipod dock, imac). Glorious shower. Comfortable beds.

However, wait to check in. Overpriced food in the lobby. Noise from the street (despite being in The Penthouse). Confusing light switches. Freeview only. Open plan, so no separation between the two bedrooms. Lift between floors agonisingly slow.

Just missed that "Wow!" feel. Still, good price.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GooGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.1 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roomzzz Manchester City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roomzzz Manchester City

Property: Roomzzz Manchester City
Address: 36 Princess Street, Manchester M1 4JY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#5 Business Hotel in Manchester
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#18 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roomzzz Manchester City 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roomzzz Manchester - As you'd expect from a luxury hotel in Manchester, there's every concession to contemporary style and comfort with 59 individual apartments to choose from - from compact studios to spacious suites. Each one fully fitted for the practicalities of daily life; each one finished with a subtle suggestion of the Orient inspired by the bustle of nearby Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Roomzzz Manchester City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roomzzz Aparthotel Manchester City Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing