We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best thai food I have ever had”
Review of Try Thai

Try Thai
Reserve with OpenTable
Try Thai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $33
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Fantastic bar on the upper ground floor with the beautiful Thai restaurant on the first floor.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best thai food I have ever had”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

First time I ever tried thai food was here 2 years ago. Now I can say it's my favourite food. Really tasty!!! Been back to the restaurant a few times and it never lets you down. Been a few other thai places since my first visit and always compare to here an try thai wins every time.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,133
    562
    163
    55
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice but where's the spice ?????”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Having fallen in love with Thai food when we toured Thailand last year my wife and I were determined to find some good Thai food near our home. We went to Try Thai mainly due to the great reviews on Tripadvisor. The restaurant is lovely inside and the staff were friendly and helpful throughout. We ordered the £30 per person set menu. The ingredients were amazing with fresh mussels, giant scallops and other seafood. The presentation was fantastic. Unfortunately all the sauces were overly sweet and thick and there was not a sign of any spice or heat in any of the dishes. The dishes were more like Chinese food than Thai, lacking the freshness and bitterness of proper Thai food. In Thailand dishes are served with condiments to add sweet, bitter, hot to your dish whereas here it was soy sauce and sweet chilli sauce. We wanted to love Try Thai but sadly the food is not authentic.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IanandRach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
295 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“authentic thai food”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

there is a bar at street level and the restaurant is on the first floor, it is down one of the less busy streets in chinatown.
the food here is excellent authentic thai food, not the usual mash up from the chinese supermarket branded as thai. Certainly in greater manchester i have not had better thai food. check out the early bird menus which are cheaper if you are unsure. The food here is fantastic i cant say more really.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ManchesterTonytiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, UK
Level Contributor
331 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Very Nice Lunch”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

As we are in the city quite often I decided to try this place following the other TA reports. Myself and my wife both love Thai food, but often find the quality mediocre and the prices over the top. Not here, and its bang in the middle of China Town.

I had a great seafood salad starter which was spiced to pefection ( HOT HOT !!) and my wife Thai fishcakes. Main courses of Duck in Tamarind Sauce and Chinese broccoli and bellypork...Really good.

Friendly service and some nice drinks and exotic teas on offer. Just had a coffee to finish, but the quality and service on our visit were first class, and it was reasonable value. We shall return

Dr Malc

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrMalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Early evening meal”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Pleasant enough place, obviously showing signs of its past which isn't too attractive. Decent service, very good food, and reasonable wines. They do a happy hour menu which lasts for 3 hours! But we chose the a la carte menu which is fairly comprehensive. Some great tastes, particularly the scallops and tiger prawns.

Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Try Thai also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Try Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing