We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to its reputation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Try Thai

Try Thai
Reserve with OpenTable
Try Thai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 2,245 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $33
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Fantastic bar on the upper ground floor with the beautiful Thai restaurant on the first floor.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lives up to its reputation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Went for the first time with a friend and was impressed by the warm welcome, lovely surroundings, great food and very reasonable prices. Only slight criticism would be the non alcoholic cocktail which was overly sweet and quite expensive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,108
    545
    157
    54
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

It was our first visit to the restaurant. The place was very busy, which is always a good sign. The staff were very attentive without being overbearing and the food was absolutely delicious! In comparison to similar restaurants, the price of the meal was very reasonable. I would definitely recommend Try Thai and would visit again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Just delicious!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Try Thai for me, has to be the best Thai restaurant I've been to! The food is just delicious! Some of my family members are Thai and they do make traditional home cooked Thai food. Restaurants don't always get that authentic taste but Try Thai certainly does. I highly recommended Try Thai!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Safiab83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
555 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Very good Thai food and a good ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Have been visiting this place for a few years and the food has nevertheless disappointed. The ambience has improved a big way from when it was located in the floor below the service is always very good and they tend to serve food later than many other places in town hence always works well for me. Love their fish cakes along with many other started and the Holy basil rice (very spicy). One of the best Thai places here along with Cprya.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PavRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“They remember us, even after months”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Flowering teas, authentic green tea mixes, a great selection of beer and a diverse menu all sound very inviting to me. They give us the same table each time we go, normally once every few months. I have been going there for a few years and honestly, the food just keeps getting better. the staff are so funny, very friendly, and regardless of whether it is a business dinner, dinner with LGBT friends or my dearest other half, the meal is always intimate, high quality and the amount of "mmmm that's really good" comments that go round the table is incessant. I generally over eat when there because the food is so addictive, and it is one of the few places in chinatown I can get a halal meal. I love it. So much. If it ever moved, I would follow.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuheen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Try Thai also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Try Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing