We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant evening”
Review of Try Thai

Try Thai
Reserve with OpenTable
Try Thai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 2,279 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Fantastic bar on the upper ground floor with the beautiful Thai restaurant on the first floor.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A very pleasant evening”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We went here as a party of five, and had a really enjoyable meal. We were a bit unadventurous and went for one of the standard banquets, but it turned out to be an excellent choice. The food was freshly cooked, delicious, the ingredients were very good quality and the dishes were a bit unusual. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,143
    568
    165
    55
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Manchester”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I go here often for lunch. It is wonderful. Better than most of the Chinese restaurants in Chinatown. Its fairly quick at lunchtime which is what I need, and the dining space is bright and airy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BuddieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great except for the hair..”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Absolutely love this place but when I had a hair on my plate of food, i asked for it to be removed, expecting the waitress to at least apologise, if not offer to get me a new plate, but she literally just looked at the plate and pulled the hair off and walked off.. I was annoyed at that but everything else was fine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fhudson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food but awful customer service”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Didn't book so was not expecting to be immediately sat down. The lady upstairs was very pleasant and took us downstairs to the bar area where they also had some seating for the restaurant. A few minutes later we were then sat down and given menus.

After 10 minutes of trying to get a waitresses attention we finally succeeded only for her to never return to take our drinks orders. By the time we had finally ordered our drinks the table next to us had entered the restaurant, had their drinks orders taken and received them. After another 15minutes wait (atleast) we received our drinks

The wait for the food was lengthy, although considering how busy the restaurant was upstairs it was expected. However, when the food arrived 2 of the 4 dishes were luke warm at best and the chicken in one of the dishes was very slimey in texture. The overall flavours of 3 of the dishes were very impressive, and certainly great value for the price!

Overall the food was for the most part ok, and i would hope that many of the issues with the food were due to the business of the restaurant. However the service was terrible! Not once were we asked how the food was untill after the plates were cleared. The waiting time before even ordering was unacceptable and with so many staff downstairs chatting behind the bar it was a frustrating experience. Overall the service took 2 hours for a main course and 1 round of drinks.... we didn't have time for anything else.

The 3 stars are for the food, the service was genuinely one of the worst I have experienced in Manchester even considering the low prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeC1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Friendly service, great food and lovely atmospere. Got a table on a Saturday evening even without a reservation. Drinks arrived quickly and the staff were very attentive. The food was delicious, tasty sauces and well prepared with fresh orchids. Will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dodd_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Try Thai also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Try Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing