We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fare, shame about the cocktails!”

Steak & Lobster Manchester
Reserve with OpenTable
Steak & Lobster Manchester is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #408 of 2,274 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $20 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At Steak & Lobster, we aspire to be the very best in what we do; delivering the finest steak and freshest lobster to your plate. We believe simplicity is key and let the food speak for itself. With lobster caught from the Canadian seas and steak from County Antrim in Northern Ireland, we understand the importance of provenance and quality. Down-to-earth, rustic and humble, we bring you a range of complementary bites, salads and desserts, in addition to our popular signature dishes.
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good fare, shame about the cocktails!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Ate here earlier this week for the first time in several months. The restaurant was very busy and service was much slower than usual. The chap at the next table spent several minutes trying to get the waiter's attention to order another round of drinks. The lobster offering is always worth opting for. I have never tried the steak, but it does look good. I do think the lobsters are getting smaller though!!! I recommend choosing to have it grilled.

As always, free refills were available on the chips and salad, though I notice staff no longer offer this as they once used to; you now have to actively ask them, despite it being on the menu. Food was good, despite the price increase since my last visit (it used to be £15!). I have to say that the cocktails were disappointing. Lacking in flavour and overpriced for what was served. Also, don't bother with desserts, mediocre at best. Provided you stick with the lobster, you should be guaranteed a decent meal!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadine1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frazer C, Manager at Steak & Lobster Manchester, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Reviewer
I'm glad you enjoyed your meal, sorry that it took us longer to serve you due to us being very busy. The team always aim to get round tables offering our fries and salad as much a possible this has not changed, Our cocktails are very popular so it was disappointing to read they were not to your liking.
Our retro desserts are also popular with the Knickerbocker Glory being a big hit here at Steak & Lobster.
We all hope to see you again in the near future , Kind Regards Frazer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    169
    127
    71
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tasty steak!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Really good value with the set menu for £17. This didn't mean that you compromised on quality because the food was tasty. Great service too.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicnjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frazer C, Manager at Steak & Lobster Manchester, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your comments , Great knowing you enjoyed your steak , we pride ourselves on using quality ingredients. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit . Regards Frazer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great Food, Gracious Service”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We were part of a group dinner at Steak and Lobster in April -- about 60 people who were attending a conference nearby. The food was delicious and fresh. The entrees were served hot, which is amazing considering they were serving 60 of us at the same time. Dessert was yummy as well. Service was very attentive. We stopped by the restaurant the day before the dinner just to check it out. The manager Glenn was so friendly and we mentioned it was one of our birthdays the next day. He remembered us when we arrived for dinner and made us feel very welcome. There were a few birthdays in our group, and Glenn and the staff made a fuss for them and everyone sang happy birthday. It was a great evening and easily one of the best meals we had in Manchester!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Travel3Bunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frazer C, Manager at Steak & Lobster Manchester, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Reviewer
I'm glad you enjoyed your group meal with us , You kind comments have been passed onto the team . I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future .Regards Frazer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Had been really looking forward to this experience as i am a massive 'lobster lover' ! I was left very disappointed. My lobster was very dry & tough, not the succulent dish i was hoping for. After the first mouthful i knew i should have ordered the steak ! The fries were plentiful & lush however , and the salad very tasty. Its a shame that the main event did not live up to expectations...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iddy8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frazer C, Manager at Steak & Lobster Manchester, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer. Sorry you experienced a tough lobster , we will always happily replace lobsters where they are found to not be as expected, I'm glad you enjoyed your unlimited fries and salad with you meal. I really do hope that you will visit us again in the future. Regards Frazer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Value”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Fantastic value for a choice of 2 Great Dishes in a very nice atmosphere
Really cant believe some of the petty customers who gave bad reviews maybe there just use to their local pub food and arent use to a classy restaurant

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frazer C, Manager at Steak & Lobster Manchester, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer I'm glad that you enjoyed your experience with us , look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Frazer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak & Lobster Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Steak & Lobster Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing