We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, top notch!”

Steak & Lobster Manchester
Reserve with OpenTable
Steak & Lobster Manchester is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #414 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $19 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At Steak & Lobster, we aspire to be the very best in what we do; delivering the finest steak and freshest lobster to your plate. We believe simplicity is key and let the food speak for itself. With lobster caught from the Canadian seas and steak from County Antrim in Northern Ireland, we understand the importance of provenance and quality. Down-to-earth, rustic and humble, we bring you a range of complementary bites, salads and desserts, in addition to our popular signature dishes.
Manchester, England.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value, top notch!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We went on a Sunday mid-aft: 6 adults, two toddlers. It was a good time to go, as it was quieter. You might not think this would be family friendly, but we had space, service was superb and it's very good value for money!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GShutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frazer C, Manager at Steak & Lobster Manchester, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Good to know that your enjoyed your time with us . Hope we shall see you again soon . Frazer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    168
    126
    71
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I love this place! we go with family or friends once a month at least! lobster is never disappointing and other half swears by the steak! Lovely staff. Can sometimes be busy and you're waiting a while for drinks or service but never shocking!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuMeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing amazing just amazing!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I have been to Alto for the £15 lobster and steak offer 5 times now and have not once been disappointed.

The Lobster is delicious. All 5 times I have had the lobster grilled so I may go for it steamed next time.

The fries and the salad are unlimited too. I normally have 3 of each (I am very greedy) The salad is so yummy and the dressing and the croutons are amazing.

The service is always really good.

Last time we booked through onionring and with that we got a free glass of wine too.

I have paid £43 for Lobster in LiveBait and wasn't even as big or tasty as at Alto.

Amazing work Alto.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tatty_girl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frazer C, Manager at Steak & Lobster Manchester, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for this fantastic review . Great to read that you keep coming back to experience us. Look forward to seeing you again soon . Frazer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Give it a miss if you are vegetarian”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Thought I would try Alto as I was staying at the Radisson. The steak and lobster looked great and exceptional value on account of the limited menu choice. The vegetarian option was a veggie burger however, same price as the other mains and accompanied by a small bowl of fries and small side salad. It was OK but not worth the £15 in my opinion.
The restaurant itself is pleasant and staff very helpful and attentive. Other diners were tucking into the lobster and steak with relish. Perhaps it was predictable, but why oh why do vegetarians always get an inferior alternative?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 391ClaireB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good for the price.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Had a pleasant meal at Alto a couple of months back. Unbelievable value for a full lobster and unlimited fries and salad! Fries were perfect and salad was really yummy, I would love to know what you dress it with! Lobster was a bit on the dry side, but other than that the meal was perfect. Will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frazer C, Manager at Steak & Lobster Manchester, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thankyou for your comment regarding our value for money, we do aim to provide great value as one of our core brand elements, Hopefully your next Lobster will not be on the dry side , sorry about that. Glad you enjoy our salad. Hope to see you dine with us again soon . Frazer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak & Lobster Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Steak & Lobster Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing