We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was excellent”

Steak & Lobster Manchester
Reserve with OpenTable
Steak & Lobster Manchester is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #425 of 2,339 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $20 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At Steak & Lobster, we aspire to be the very best in what we do; delivering the finest steak and freshest lobster to your plate. We believe simplicity is key and let the food speak for itself. With lobster caught from the Canadian seas and steak from County Antrim in Northern Ireland, we understand the importance of provenance and quality. Down-to-earth, rustic and humble, we bring you a range of complementary bites, salads and desserts, in addition to our popular signature dishes.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

had dinner there last week.It was so good we had a steak, grilled lobster and a steamed lobster between two of us, good wine list, good staff excellent value

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maximdeparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak & Lobster Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, It is great to hear and I will share with the team, Ryan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (636)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

577 - 581 of 636 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

A belated team Chrstmas do - 7 ladies on a night out and we chose well- we knew it was steak or lobster, both were excellent, the salad and chips kept on coming and they were lovely as well. We all enjoyed the sweets, the staff were deightful, the surroundings are modern and pleasant. For £15 each we all want to go again and take our partners for perfectly cooked steaks or tasty lobster, endless salad & chips as promised

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrews272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visited as 4 sets of couples celebrating my partner's 50th birthday (no reference to this by the staff on the night). Despite my calling the hotel 3 times before our visit, we were very disappointed and would have been so even if it had not been a special occasion.
We were isolated on the terrace - couldn't see anyone or join in with the atmosphere - a big mistake, we felt.
No starters (as I had discovered by calling them), so it was straight into the main courses.
The lobsters were smallish and rather rubbery. 2 steaks were mis-served (we soon swapped them over) and another had to be sent back to be re-cooked. No serving staff to be seen after that, even though I had been assured that fries and salad was unlimited. I eventually got up and sought out a waitress, who took our order for some more sides - these did not arrive even 30 minutes later, and everyone finished their meals feeling that something was badly lacking in atmosphere, service and food.
When we paid, we complained about the lack of service. We received an apology and a refund of the service charge (which had automatically been added to the bill).
Not a cheap night, when adding in the cost of our minibus there and back. Wine was passable, but we didn't linger as we knew we would get better service back home - birthday cake, coffee and liqueurs were unlimited at my house and served with good music and smiles all round.
The hotel itself seemed to be first class (lovely surroundings and loos) but we won't be dining at Alto again, not even if it is free!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank holidaytrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I went here with a friend for dinner last week, and it was so good. £15 for a whole baby lobster, with unlimited fries and salad - you can't say fairer than that. We had two portions of fries and salad each and were absolutely stuffed! All the food was absolutely delicious and the staff were very attentive - they came over several times to ask if we needed anything. My only complaint is that the drinks are quite expensive, but I suppose that's to be expected in a hotel restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak & Lobster Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Thank you for your review, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your Steak & Lobster experience, We do look forward to welcoming you back. @RBEHotels #SandLAlto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

very good service, open until 10.30 so good for after show meal. Meal was as you would expect -clue in name, not the best steak and lobster ever had, but service and convienience worth while

Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak & Lobster Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for the review, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at Steak & Lobster after the show, we hope to welcome you back again if you are ever coming to see another show in town. Opus One has also now started serving a "Chefs theatre before the theatre" which is our Pre-show menu from 17:30 and it only £20 for 2 courses and a drink!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak & Lobster Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Steak & Lobster Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing