We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good value”

Steak & Lobster Manchester
Reserve with OpenTable
Steak & Lobster Manchester is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #418 of 2,245 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Steak & Lobster, we aspire to be the very best in what we do; delivering the finest steak and freshest lobster to your plate. We believe simplicity is key and let the food speak for itself. With lobster caught from the Canadian seas and steak from County Antrim in Northern Ireland, we understand the importance of provenance and quality. Down-to-earth, rustic and humble, we bring you a range of complementary bites, salads and desserts, in addition to our popular signature dishes.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Really good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The menu is of course very simple so you don't need to spend long choosing. The steak is very good. You can have as many chips as you want, and extra salad, and whilst the room isn't the best space for a restaurant, this is a useful spot, particularly for a lunch.

Helpful?
Thank CCP1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak & Lobster Manchester, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for this review, I am happy to hear that you think it is great value and perfect for lunch, we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    165
    122
    68
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buxton Derbyshire in the High Peak Forest
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We dined here for our anniversary , I had the lobster , "served warm"......my partner had the steak, that was ok. The wine shot the price up........there are other fish restaurants in manchester I will visit before returning to ALTO

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buxtonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food but not sure whether we were in a pub or a disco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Went for a meal today with friends. The food was excellent and cooked to perfection service was ok but could have been better. The let down for us was that the restaurant appeared to be a cross between a pub and a disco with football at one end and loud disco music at the other people where jumping up shouting and cheering as their team scored not what you expect when eating we told the restaurants had gone through a refurb which i have to say not for the better we then moved to the bar in opus and ordered a floater coffee this came in a normsl tea cup not what gou expect the bar and tables littered with dirty pots having said this the food was good value for money if you dont mind eating in a pub

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bodrumgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak & Lobster Manchester, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food, we are constantly looking for feedback so we are very thankful and would hope that you return to Steak & Lobster @ Alto soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groenekan, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great concept - great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Situated in the Radisson Edwardian, the location gives the place a headstart. I found others in my group to be suspicious, can this kind of place really offer Lobster or Steak for this price? Yes they can and they DO! Can't miss it, nice place, well set and decorated and food is spot on!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KPosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak & Lobster Manchester, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for the review! I am glad that you have enjoyed your experience and that we have got the pricing right. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
199 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 828 helpful votes
“'Screech'!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The food was fine - steak for moi - although, for the price (c.£15.00 per plate) methinks the accompaniment (slimline fries and salad - served in little bowls - see photograph) was a little on the small side. That said, extra portions were offered to us - but only towards the completion of our consumption.
The choice of beers was nothing special - just the usual. The wine list was fine - as was that tipple or two or three...!
The cheese board was fine except for the (as usual everywhere it would seem) inadequate amount of biscuits / wafers. Fortunately a 'top up' was provided upon request.
The service was alright, if a little slow. This may have been down to staff numbers. The staff though were fine. That said, a nubile young foreign waitress (Eastern European) always had to repeat her lines to us - she was perhaps a little quiet, but, the loud (for the setting) musak did not help !
The bill for two came to £83.00 - ouch - it was good, but... A word of warning - a 10% service charge comes as part of it - looking on the bright side - no need to tip !

Good to see this fine old building thriving - even at what was effectively the back of stage area !

Niggles ? - aye - the loose seating has a nasty tendency to screech upon the hard floor when moved.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertTaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak & Lobster Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Steak & Lobster Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing