We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but not sure whether we were in a pub or a disco”

Steak & Lobster Manchester
Reserve with OpenTable
Steak & Lobster Manchester is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #424 of 2,242 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Steak & Lobster, we aspire to be the very best in what we do; delivering the finest steak and freshest lobster to your plate. We believe simplicity is key and let the food speak for itself. With lobster caught from the Canadian seas and steak from County Antrim in Northern Ireland, we understand the importance of provenance and quality. Down-to-earth, rustic and humble, we bring you a range of complementary bites, salads and desserts, in addition to our popular signature dishes.
bolton
Level Contributor
79 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food but not sure whether we were in a pub or a disco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Went for a meal today with friends. The food was excellent and cooked to perfection service was ok but could have been better. The let down for us was that the restaurant appeared to be a cross between a pub and a disco with football at one end and loud disco music at the other people where jumping up shouting and cheering as their team scored not what you expect when eating we told the restaurants had gone through a refurb which i have to say not for the better we then moved to the bar in opus and ordered a floater coffee this came in a normsl tea cup not what gou expect the bar and tables littered with dirty pots having said this the food was good value for money if you dont mind eating in a pub

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bodrumgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak & Lobster Manchester, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food, we are constantly looking for feedback so we are very thankful and would hope that you return to Steak & Lobster @ Alto soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    165
    123
    68
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groenekan, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great concept - great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Situated in the Radisson Edwardian, the location gives the place a headstart. I found others in my group to be suspicious, can this kind of place really offer Lobster or Steak for this price? Yes they can and they DO! Can't miss it, nice place, well set and decorated and food is spot on!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank KPosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak & Lobster Manchester, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for the review! I am glad that you have enjoyed your experience and that we have got the pricing right. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
199 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 828 helpful votes
“'Screech'!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The food was fine - steak for moi - although, for the price (c.£15.00 per plate) methinks the accompaniment (slimline fries and salad - served in little bowls - see photograph) was a little on the small side. That said, extra portions were offered to us - but only towards the completion of our consumption.
The choice of beers was nothing special - just the usual. The wine list was fine - as was that tipple or two or three...!
The cheese board was fine except for the (as usual everywhere it would seem) inadequate amount of biscuits / wafers. Fortunately a 'top up' was provided upon request.
The service was alright, if a little slow. This may have been down to staff numbers. The staff though were fine. That said, a nubile young foreign waitress (Eastern European) always had to repeat her lines to us - she was perhaps a little quiet, but, the loud (for the setting) musak did not help !
The bill for two came to £83.00 - ouch - it was good, but... A word of warning - a 10% service charge comes as part of it - looking on the bright side - no need to tip !

Good to see this fine old building thriving - even at what was effectively the back of stage area !

Niggles ? - aye - the loose seating has a nasty tendency to screech upon the hard floor when moved.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RobertTaggart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food, great value, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Had a very enjoyable visit to Alto recently.

As you will probably know there are only 2 choices - you have either rib eye steak or whole lobster. Both served with a green salad and fries.

There were 3 in my group and we all chose lobster. You could have it steamed or grilled. The presentation is lovely, really gorgeous plates. The lobster was very well cooked and tasted fantastic. Surprisingly, the green salad was absolutely delicious!! Both the fries and salads were replenished at no extra charge which was a lovely surprise.

Of course, lobster, even a whole one, is never going to be the most filling meal. But its absolutely delicious and worth ordering here as you won't find it at this price anywhere else! Besides, with 2 rounds of fries you won't exactly go hungry! Just don't have unrealistic expectations about how much flesh can actually be in a lobster shell.

There were 3 desserts on offer all for a very very reasonable price. The knickerbocker glory was amazing! So tasty, especially the raspberry cream element.

When I called up to reserve the table I was asked if we were celebrating a special occasion. It was in fact one of our birthdays. It was a lovely surprise for him to be served a complementary chocolate brownie complete with candle!

The service was great all night in fact. Really attentive and incredibly friendly. When we asked to move tables (simply because we changed our mind) our waitress was very obliging and made us feel like it was no trouble. She was actually funny and cracked a few jokes which was fantastic and matched our humour! English clearly wasn't even her first language!

We visited on a saturday night and the place was busy enough to create a bit of atmosphere. I read a review where the author complained about the height of the chairs compared with the booth seating at the opposite side of the table. I can honestly say we didn't notice at all.

All in all I have no complaints at all about Steak and Lobster at Alto. We had a great night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anniemaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak & Lobster Manchester, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this detailed review, I am very pleased to hear that you al enjoyed the Steak & Lobster experience, We look forward to welcoming you back soon, Many Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Saturday Lunchtime Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

We visited Manchester on a Saturday as we were attending a concert in the evening.
We chose Alto as I love lobster and my partner steak ! Also the special offer of £15 per head with unlimited fries and salad caught our eye.
The style and ambience of the hotel and restaurant was very impressive and the staff were professional and welcoming.
Our waitress was knowledgeable and the food was great. My grilled lobster was lovely and my partners steak also cooked to order (well done ,not always the case !) We had at least two refills of fries and salad and the knickerbocker glory and the cheese board were also delicious. The wine we chose was a Malbec and at around £20 it was a bargain.
All in all a great place to spend the afternoon (especially with England v New Zealand on the television in the bar !)

Helpful?
Thank timbo1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak & Lobster Manchester, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for this review, it is great that you like the style and ambience of the restaurant and of the hotel. Thank you for recognising the level of service that we pride ourselves upon. We all do look forward to welcoming you back to the Free Trade Hall and Steak & Lobster @ ALTO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak & Lobster Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Steak & Lobster Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing