We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great value and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steak & Lobster

Steak & Lobster
Reserve with OpenTable
Steak & Lobster is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #353 of 2,160 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $18 - $42
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Steak & Lobster, we aspire to be the very best in what we do; delivering the finest steak and freshest lobster to your plate. We believe simplicity is key and let the food speak for itself. With lobster caught from the Canadian seas and steak from County Antrim in Northern Ireland, we understand the importance of provenance and quality. Down-to-earth, rustic and humble, we bring you a range of complementary bites, salads and desserts, in addition to our popular signature dishes.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great value and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is a no brainer, just do it! Quick simple and flawless but poplar so check before you head out to avoid waiting.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak & Lobster, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for this great review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the style of service. The restaurant is large and we try to accommodate everyone and keep waiting time to a minimum. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    161
    119
    62
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simple but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The ribeye steak was a good piece of meat cooked well. The lobster was also tasty but perhaps not the largest. Go for the steak if hungry! The fries and salad were also very nice and replenished for free. Overall this is somewhere you would go if you wanted some good food but were in a hurry. You'd probably go elsewhere for a special occasion meal though. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eldiablo_1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RyanThompsonRBEH, Manager at Steak & Lobster, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the Steak. Have you tried our Opus One restaurant for a more formal setting – this would suit any special occasion. It is fantastic to hear you will be back, Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
216 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Very good food at great prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

You have only two choices: lobster a d chips or steak and chips. That's it, no starters, no sides. The lobster comes steamed or grilled, cut in half and served with thin French fries, a small green salad in a beautiful dressing and a a claw shaped device for cracking open the lobster's claw. The meat was juicy and meaty. Very good.
The steak was well cooked and came also with fries and salad. Nice that the meal comes with tomato sauce, mustard and mayonnaise without having to ask. Both meals are £15 each. Bargain!
There were 4 desserts on offer. I had a knickerbocker glory which was a magnificent pile if fruit, ice cream and raspberry cream. Magnificent.
The service was ok, not very attentive but no real problems. Alto is the hotel's second restaurant and I imagine it could be quite quiet on a weeknight. On a Friday night it was busy enough and had a good atmosphere. I would definitely recommend this place.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Citizenandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Simple - but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went to this restaurant in the Radisson Blu Hotel in central Manchester with my son and daughter-in-law who live in Manchester.
It is a modern bar-type eatery with wooden floors and plain plastered walls - which made it difficult to hear conversation when nearby tables were full.
The format is simple - either steak or lobster, both served with chips and salad - for £15.
My steak was well seasoned and cooked as I requested - very tasty. The others had lobster which came in its shell with nutcrackers and pick. They thought the lobster was tasty but a lot of effort for not too much meat. The chips and salad were good with the latter coming with a nice dressing. Additional chips and/or salad are available on demand at no extra cost - nice touch.
The wine list was good, albeit very pricey - £30 for a nice Alsace wine which is normally found priced at £15 - £20. The waiter brought the wrong bottle which was a bit worrying!
Overall food was good - quality and value; service less than attentive - the price of the wine was out of keeping with the format of the restaurant.
Overall an enjoyable meal, which with a few tweaks could have been excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobHilbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“steak or lobster is fine by me”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

a quick meal of lobster and steak with fries and salad- ideal at the end of a busy day. Good ine list although a little pricy

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak & Lobster also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Steak & Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing