We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite bar just got better!”
Review of Horse and Jockey

Horse and Jockey
Ranked #598 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $6 - $19
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“My favourite bar just got better!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Love the new decor, really nice - I live in Chorlton and it's a great dog friendly bar with an excellent heated outdoor patio.

Had lunch on Friday of the new menu and it was lovely! I've eaten in the restaurant a coupe of times and both times the steak was beautiful.

Helpful?
Thank TedManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    81
    69
    58
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Breakfast Bliss”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Attended a wedding breakfast in the newly refurbished restaurant. The fish cakes and soup starters were tremendous!!! Ordered steak for main course...100% delicious! On our table alone 5 steaks were ordered from rare to medium-well. We were all very pleased how our steaks turned out. "Cooked to perfection" was the phrase of the day. Finished off with delicious chocolate brownies. Looking forward to my next trip already!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Theoriginaldynamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I Never leave reviews but this time i have to....”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Me and my boyfriend thought it would be nice to go for sunday dinner one evening, having heard good things about the pub/food off a friend of ours we thought the horse and jockey would be a good choice.. Well no, First of all it was empty but yet it took them ages to take our order, we then both ordered a glass of coke which turnt out to be £3 and the half chicken roast dinner which was priced at £9.95 (bit pricey for a pub lunch especially the quality they were dishing out) but seen as tho we were seated we continued to dine. Our meals came fast which was great until we discovered why. Both starving we start to took into what looked like a massive half chicken.. There was hardly anything onit and the meat was PINK ! Joined by a small scoop of carrot, 3 measly roasties and a rock hard Yorkshire pud it was awful. I was that furious i did not have the patience to complain we ate what we could trying to get our £26s worth and left straight after.. Now were both at home with stomach cramps which is a result of the rushed, uncooked, chicken. Absolutely disgusting, wouldn't advise anyone to eat here and i certainly wont be going back !!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seggy1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very poor.”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Went for a birthday meal, but cut the night short after main course as the food was awful & the service not much better.
Ordered the pasta & tomato sauce off the kids menu - received pasta with no sauce, but chunks of fried tomato & loads of seasoning (not appropriate for kids food). Found some bits of ham in it so sent it back. Waitress bought it back to the table (having removed the ham) saying the kitchen had run out of ham, so it can't have been ham. It was, though.

Fish & chips - batter thick & uncooked. Hardly any fish inside.

Porchetta dish was mostly stuffing & very little meat.

Veggie burger was dry - no sauce, relish etc, just dry bun & fried vegetable thing.

Waiting staff seemed harassed & a bit too defensive.

They didn't charge us for pasta or fish, but we still felt it was a waste. There are too many good places nearby for this place to be so rubbish.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeHin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tried to Give It Another Chance...Again”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband, toddler, and I live in Chorlton, and we used to stop by on occasion for either a few drinks, snacks, or a proper meal. The last time we ate there was on Christmas Day 2012, which started off very disappointing: four adults and one baby crammed in a small table in across from the men's toilet. We were moved but only after my father-in-law demanded a nice table for the hefty price of the entire meal for all of us. The food was alright, but the service was average. I think we got the better waitress from the bunch. At least we didn't have the one wearing a Christmas onesie.

We stopped by on Saturday for a quick drink. My husband waited at the bar for about 10 minutes to get someone's attention to ask if they had soya milk for a coffee. They didn't by the way. So, the bar staff move on instead of asking what else would he like instead. It takes nearly another 10 minutes of waiting at the bar. There are four staff behind the bar, mincing about. We decide to leave without ordering anything, which was a shame because we had a nice little table in front of the fire. We head out to our local The Bowling Green, which is miles better in terms of service.

Such a shame about Horse and Jockey. The wait/bar staff are totally clueless about food, drink, and good service. Despite poor reviews, people continue to visit this place, so maybe this is why the staff don't care. A new manager is badly needed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamajellybean2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Horse and Jockey also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Cheadle Hulme, Stockport
 

Been to Horse and Jockey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing