We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Just returned from a Sunday night stay, 4 adults staying for a child free birthday celebration.

Was met by Michael who booked us a car park space under the hotel in a secure locked garage, defo worth doing.

Michael was great, very charming and helpful with maps, taxis etc.

We were all surprised about the quality and size of the apartment, very clean and had everything needed, plentiful towels, tea, coffee milk etc.

If I had one negative it would be the bathroom, it was a bit tired looking but still very clean.

Would defo stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani1978_dani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityWarehouse, Front Office Manager at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Dani,

Thank you for your review.

I have passed your comments on to Michael.

We are glad you enjoyed the apartment and regarding your comment about the bathrooms - we are having all new bathroom suites fitted in January so hopefully you will stay again in the New Year and see them.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (602)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 602 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment for 1 night prior to picking our daughter up from Manchester airport. Prior to arrival I emailed the hotel to ask about parking and within 5 minutes an email came back with a link to their recommended NCP secure car park. I booked online at the excellent price of £60 for a Sunday night stay.

On arrival we checked in quickly (after a nice chat with the young man on reception about his Harry Potter tattoo and Halloween costume plans!) On entering our room we were very surprised at how spacious it was and indeed what excellent value for money. It had a very large open plan living/dining/kitchen area, a large hallway, bedroom and bathroom. The living area had a large tv, ipod docking station and dvd player. The kitchen was fully stocked with milk and tea/coffee and even had a supply of kitchen roll. As we had a late lunch out in Manchester we bought some wine/cheese/pizza etc to enjoy in the room later on. All of the facilites that we needed were available for us to eat in the apartment.

We spent some time relaxing in the evening and found the aprartment to be very comfortable. My husband commented that is was unlike an apartment hotel and much more of a home away from home.

We have stayed in other apartment hotels in Manchester and found that when they were new they were very nice but after a couple of visits noticed how shabby they were allowed to get and I think that is the problem with this type of accomodation. I sincerely hope that the owners maintain the high standards they have so obviously set for themselves and that on our next visit the apartments are still excellent value for money, clean, comfortable and pristine as we most certainly will be back.

Many thanks for a lovely stay. We will (and indeed already have) recommended your apartments to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynmparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityWarehouse, Front Office Manager at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a wonderful review and thank you for recommending us too.

I have passed on your comments to Michael (the Harry Potter fan) also.

I'm very happy you felt the apartment was more a 'home away from home' than just a hotel room. Also, thank you for the comments about how the apartments looked - we are now over 2 years old but try to maintain the apartments so every guest feels like they are brand new.

You have mentioned in your review that you will be returning to the hotel so we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had booked for a party of 8 people to stop at the apartments. I confirmed via email to be told there has been a problem with the booking and that the penthouse we had booked wasnt avalible and we had been given two rooms instead which was a bit of a shame as we couldnt all be together and had to cram into one room. would have been nice to have been offered a discount or a bottle of wine as a sorry. rooms were clean bed comfy. bathroom door lock didnt work but not a major issue and the bath panel on the side was loose which i caught my foot on nothing a screw or two wouldnt fix but overall a good stay!

Matt

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityWarehouse, Front Office Manager at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Mat,

Thank you for your review.

Again apologies about the situation which meant you were not given the apartment you had originally booked - you are quite right that we should have offered your some wine/lager as an apology and I'm sorry that wasn't done.

I'm glad you enjoyed your overall stay and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Stayed here with my daughters half term week .Great apartment. Good location , buses trams, supermarket all no more than 5 mins walk and only 10 to city center . Upgraded on arrival to apartment with sofa beds which meant everyone had their own sleeping space. Apartment clean with all necessities and mod cons including an i pod dock , happy teenagers! Comfy beds happy mum ! Felt secure with 24 hr security.
Helpful staff who allowed us a slightly later check out and then kept out bags secure for us till it was time to leave. Would definetly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityWarehouse, Front Office Manager at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you felt nice and secure in the building - we always want every one of our guests to have the best stay they can - glad your daughters were happy with the iPod dock and you enjoyed the comfy beds.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Rooms were very modern and very clean with friendly reception 24hrs a day no matter how late in you were.

This was a works visit to Manchester and the second time at this hotel. WE'll definately be staying again.

Room Tip: We had a twin double room on the fifth floor. The 2 sofas convert into beds easily by pulling the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityWarehouse, Front Office Manager at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Dear Mark,

Thank you for your excellent review all feedback is greatly appreciated.

I was happy to read that this was your 2nd visit to the hotel and that you will stay again. We hope to welcome you back for a third in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I stayed here last week with a group of friends for a concert. It was an absolutely ideal base for a short stay in Manchester - extremely central, with the whole city centre in walking distance. It is also right beside a mini - vintage shop district, which we enjoyed, and the central shopping, including Arndale Centre and the unique Affleck's Palace are all easily walkable.

The accommodation itself was lovely - much nicer than we expected given the budget price. It was fully furnished to a high standard, and looked more like a boutique hotel than a low price apartment - for the money I would doubt you'll find anything near this!
The apartment was fully furnished with crockery, towels, linen etc, so it feels like a home rather than a hotel, which is nice! There also some quality extras, such as a nice flat screen TV, a DVD player, an iPod doc, and free wireless internet. Each of the two leather sofas fold down to make single sofa beds, and contrary to previous reviewers, we found them to be pretty comfortable.

The staff was very pleasant, knowledgeable about the local area, and happy to call taxis etc. When we did have a very minor problem (our kettle didn't work) they replaced it immediately and without any fuss.

It was also very easy to get to from the airport, with a train to Manchester Piccadilly costing less than £2 in the evening! You could definitely walk from Piccadilly, but if like us you choose not to, taxis are easily available. One word of advice - not all the taxi drivers will know where City Warehouse Apartment Hotel is, so if you tell them to drop you off at the Frog & Bucket Pub, or at the Travelodge, this place is right next door!

Overall, we were very impressed with this place and would definitely stay here again if we were in Manchester - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenDAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityWarehouse, Front Office Manager at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Dear Stephen,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review.

We always try to offer value for money at our hotel but even though the price is cheaper than most of our competitors we still offer excellent customer service and make sure the apartments are to the best standard possible.

I have passed on your comments to the office staff and to the housekeepers.

Thank you again and we hope to see you back at the hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

5 of us stayed here last week and paid £115 for the room.
Very good location for the MEN and Northern Qtr bars.
We were pleasantly surprised as didn't expect much for the price. The rooms were comfortable. All crockery etc provided and enough towels for us all.
Did not have en-suite bathroom so was hard work 5 adults all trying to get ready/washed with only 1 bathroom.
We weren't happy that we had to pay a security deposit of £75 as we were not made aware of this at booking.
But all in all we would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracye09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityWarehouse, Front Office Manager at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

We are glad you found the hotel good value for money. I just wanted to answer a view points you raised in the review.

We do mention in all our apartment information on all booking agents that our 2 bedroom apartments do only have 1 bathroom. Also we mention about the security deposit we take, again, on all booking agents we use.

I am sorry you did not notice this information but I am glad it didn't effect your stay and we hope you will return in the near future.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Staycity Aparthotels Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Light ApartHotel
The Light ApartHotel
#5 of 81 in Manchester
927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staycity Aparthotels Laystall Street
0.6 mi away
CitySuites
CitySuites
#1 of 81 in Manchester
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel

Address: 6-14 Great Ancoats Street, Manchester M4 5AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range: $70 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formed to ensure that visitors to Manchester have the choice they deserve, The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel offers an alternative to standard city centre hotel rooms. We have a selection of 1 and 2 bedroom apartments and penthouses, furnished and kitted out with all the mod cons and appliances that you would expect from a hotel. We want you to enjoy yourself, and think you will with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing