We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure love”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We've been in many different hotels in Manchester, but now we truly felt like we've found The One. Location perfect, staff lovely and so helpful (and have to mention; good looking ;)), apartments modern and stylish, we found from the kitchen everything we needed, towels and linen clean and soft.... PERFECT!! There was five of us in my group, four adults and one child (11 years old) and everyone just loved the hotel and the atmosphere =) We'll definitely come back! <3

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroliina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityWarehouse, General Manager at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2011

Dear Caroliina,

Thank you for your kind words and we are all very happy you had such a good stay.

We always enjoy meeting guests from other countries and, hopefully, giving a good impression of what Manchester has to offer.

We hope to see you again sometime in the near future.

Tom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 605 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

I have been holding off writing this review as I was hoping that the city warehouse would be able to redeem themselves, I was hopeing that although we did not have the best experiance here they would acknowlege their failures and put right the wrongs - I was optomistic - they haven't!
I am going to try and be constructive as possible.
Ok the good points 1st, we had a penthouse apartment which was clean and spacious, we really enjoyed that the apartment had a balcony, it was typical of what you would expect from an apartment hotel
Another good point would be the housekeeping staff we encounted, they were very nice.
So where did it go wrong?
I booked this through booking.com as needed an apartment which could sleep 8, this was at the time the only place which could offer that, it would cost us just short of £400 for the evening, I want to point out now that through booking.com it was an apartment for 8 not 7.5 which I will come to later.
Its been pointed out in previous reviews about the location and the parking, we found it really hard to find and get to they dont have adequate signage for the place and the parking was not ideal, infact it was proberbly the most expensive we have ever encounted in Manchester (tip- Laystall apartments just up the road offer free parking, see a previous review of mine)
We all checked in seprately and once all there left to go to our event about 5pm, when we returned this is where our problems started, we returned at 11.40pm, had a knock on the door from a security guard asking us to settle the remainder of the account now!, without going into to much detail we were made to feel like we were avoiding paying the account, even though I checked on check in if it was ok to all pay sepratly which is was and I had already paid for part of the account on check in and left a credit card for a gaurentee, my advice to any groups that stay here and you wish to pay like we did is to do it all on arrival and get a reciept
You can imagine that we were a little annoyed with the incident, but the remainder of the account was settled that evening.
So it comes to making up the sofa beds which was to sleep 4 of our party, they are not proper sofa beds I would call them a padded futon there was 3 in the lounge but it was obvious that these were ment to sleep 2 and was really only suitable as a single, so one of our party had to sleep on the floor, we did that evening point this out to the secuirty guard who had graced us previouly, he couldn't help and gave us an extra duvet.
On check out the party made a complaint about the payment & bed situ, it was agreed that the equivalent to one person would be refufunded to my credit card (just short of £50), the chap also said that they advertise the apartment as suitable for 7.5 persons???????, yeah work that one out! funny thing is one of our part is about 4 ft 5 but it still was not suitable, so my advice to anyone booking an 8 person penthouse room is unless you are really really close its not suitable to sleep 8.
Opened credit card statement 3 weeks later expecting to find refund but instead found an extra charge of £100 on bill!, phoned up and spoke to Ian who said he was one of the owners, he proceded to tell me that 3 of our party never paid and due to the refund he was making that's why i have only been charged £100, of course this made no sence after the carry on we had, looked into it and kept emailing Ian that the 3 in question can all prove that they paid, he refunded the £100 but was not prepaired to make the initail refund of the complaint until he had "proof", sent an email with the proof of the 3 allegerd missing payments weeks ago along with outline of my complaint which was very firm but honest as I was furious, never recieved a reply or the refund which was promised, shocking.
If your anything like me and still expect a level of service in an apartment hotel I would avoid here, they are far better places, the best apartments we have stayed in Manchester is The Place which is in a similer location, what happend after we left was in my opinion and the opinion of the rest of the party - DODGY, its safe to say that we won't be reccomending this place to anyone on a personal level or business level.

Room Tip: balcony room nice but can only sleep 7 max
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank winter1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityWarehouse, Owner at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2011

First of all, may I thank you for the positive comments you made? Your feedback has been passed onto our housekeeping team. I would also like to respond to the negative comments you have made.

Our location has, in the past been commented upon as difficult to find. It is something we have had to contend with being where we are situated, on a one way road. Unfortunately, Manchester City Council only allows us a certain number of signs outside the building. Of which we currently have 4, covering all angles of the hotel, one of which is above the front door and another protruding from the front of the hotel. To counter any potential problems finding us, we contact all our guests by telephone the night before their arrival to ensure they know how to find us once they reach Manchester. We also have a map of our location on our website, and on all the booking agents we are associated with, including Booking.com who you made your booking with. Fortunately, the majority of people are able to find the hotel without any difficulty.

You mention in your review that the car parking is probably the most expensive you have encountered in the city. You actually parked at a local public car park (NCP), and not at the hotel. Parking at Church St NCP is £15.20 per 24 hours and is fairly standard for the city centre here. You were also given the option of a local open-air car park adjacent to the hotel, which costs much less at £6 per 24 hours. For the benefit of anyone reading this response, I have checked this morning with Laystall Apartments and the cost of their parking is £12 per night, not free as is suggested in the review.

As you would have been able to read in our hotel information on Booking.com at the time of making your booking, and as is also specified in your booking confirmation and on our own website, full payment is required at time of check-in, in order to hand over any keys. As your group was due to arrive at different intervals throughout the day and had planned to pay separately, in order to make it easier and more comfortable for you, we offered to release the keys to you straight away, in good faith, and give you all the opportunity to pay as each of you arrived. The reason our night staff approached you at around midnight, when you returned to the hotel from the concert you attended, was because a number of your group had not paid, as we had asked you to make sure they did. May I also add that, if you were not informed of our policy to take payment upon arrival, you are the only one of 5223 bookings we have had so far this year that was not, and perhaps Booking.com themselves would like to comment on that for you.

In terms of the sofa beds, they measure 1.8 metres (5’10”) in length and 1.10m in width and are suitable for 2 small adults. As explained in the instructions on the sofa beds themselves, and in the guest directory in the apartment, when pushed together, 2 sofa beds will sleep 3 persons very easily, with the 4th person on the one remaining. The 2 double bedrooms sleep 4 persons between them to make up the 8. I’m not too sure where your suggestion came from that you were told the room accommodated 7.5 persons, but perhaps that was a misunderstanding, because it is quite ridiculous. Most certainly, your friend at 4’ 5” would have been more than comfortable on a sofa bed of 5’ 10”.

Following your departure, our system at the hotel informed us, in error, that there was still an outstanding balance of£150 on your account. We tried to contact you regarding this, but were told that you were unavailable as you were on a flight. We therefore completed your £100 security deposit to pay the balance, and notified you by email. We didn’t charge the additional £50, because it had been agreed, due to the inconvenience you were caused of actually being asked to pay for your apartment, that we would refund £50 to you. As soon as it became evident that your friends had paid, we refunded the £100 with our apologies.
We asked for copies of bank statements to prove that the payments had been made, because they weren’t showing on our system. Unfortunately, for some reason, our booking system had not tied the payments up to your booking. As anyone who works with computers will understand, errors can occur and, with due respect, we are not in the habit of handing out refunds without evidence to back up the reason, as I’m sure you wouldn’t do in the same position.

We did, however only receive 2 bank statements, which showed payments made of around £100, which is what we’ve refunded to you. Because you didn’t send us any further statements, we have assumed that the remaining £50 wasn’t paid after all, and because we had agreed a £50 refund to you, we haven’t chased this since. Additionally, we have heard nothing from you, until this review, to state otherwise.

The entire matter has been a very unfortunate misunderstanding, caused initially by your group not following the terms of the booking you had made, and latterly for our error concerning your payment. But I must add that, had you paid on check in, as you were made aware via your booking confirmation and the information on Booking.com that you should, the events we have discussed here would not have happened.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Nicely appointed apartment with very helpful people on reception. The accommodation was good and clean - we had a two room apartment. The sitting room area was well appointed and for the four of us, it was much more relaxing than a normal hotel. The apartment was very warm and it was difficult to work out how to control the A/C. Opening the windows made it very noisy as it is on a main road. The kitchen is good and has everything required so able to bring in our own food etc for breakfast. Only one bathroom which was a bit basic. The shower was really more one for washing hair whilst in the bath rather than actually showering but it did for the one night. It is not really in the centre but for four of us it was only about a fiver for a taxi to the main restauarant and entertainment areas. Parking nearby was £15.30 for 24 hours in the NCP secure car park. About 5-7 minutes walk away. We paid £85 for the night which for 4 adults was very good value. I would stay there again.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Saint7650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Nice apartments, well appointed and clean but the location is not the best and car parking is a bit of a problem too. Good value for money

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PMH1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I stayed at the City Warehouse Apartments with a group of friends for an event in Manchester. We were hugely impressed with every aspect the stay.

The Apartments were clean, spacious and well equipped (including a flat-screen TV, DVD and CD players and an iPod dock). Staff were friendly, helpful and courteous which meant that check-in was a smooth and quick process.

The apartment in which we stayed also looked exactly as the photographs on the website had advertised, meaning that it was of the quality we expected. As we were a large group our stay was also excellent value for money; because of the spacious nature of the apartment we never felt crowded. I would recommend the Apartments to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeppelin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Myself and group of 5 friends stayed at these apartments at the end of June for an event at the Renaissance Hotel. We arrived at around 3pm and were swiftly checked in by the friendly and helpful staff.
The apartment itself was very spacious and clean, and had plenty of extras such as an IPOD dock, DVD player and CD player. We were all very impressed with the apartment and it exceeded our expectations. I really could not recommend these apartments enough, and I have told just about everybody about the wonderful experience we had! Between 6 of us the apartment cost £27 each, and considering the Travelodge across the road would have cost £25 each, there was really no comparison! The bedrooms were large, clean and comfortable and the open-plan living area allowed plenty of room for pre-drinks and dancing!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The staff were helpful and polite. The apartment felt very luxurious. Was impressed to have an i-pod dock and two bedrooms when I only booked one. The free WIFI was much appreciated also.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coope83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#31 of 121 in Manchester
309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 121 in Manchester
1,409 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staycity Aparthotels Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staycity Aparthotels Laystall Street
0.6 mi away
CitySuites
CitySuites
#1 of 84 in Manchester
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Light ApartHotel
The Light ApartHotel
#5 of 84 in Manchester
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel

Address: 6-14 Great Ancoats Street, Manchester M4 5AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range: $89 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formed to ensure that visitors to Manchester have the choice they deserve, The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel offers an alternative to standard city centre hotel rooms. We have a selection of 1 and 2 bedroom apartments and penthouses, furnished and kitted out with all the mod cons and appliances that you would expect from a hotel. We want you to enjoy yourself, and think you will with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing