We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BE AWARE...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BE AWARE...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

Stayed here with my partner to get a little break from the kids. Being from Manchester, we have stayed at the majority of hotels around town and this place holds it's own against most of them with regards to room standard.

Unfortunately we booked through "LATE ROOMS" who were the cause of our problem with the stay. When booking we notified Late Rooms we'd be paying in cash on arrival and asked if we would need I.D. or a cash deposit because of this. We were told "NO." The Late Room staff member told us a copy of all the terms and conditions would be emailed to us but there wasn't any information we needed other than what they'd already given us.

That turned out to be seriously incorrect because checking into the apartment, we WERE asked to leave a £75.00 deposit (standard to everyone) in the form of a pre authorised payment on our bank card. Luckily I had taken my bank card with me so it wasn't a problem. However... checking out the next morning, we asked the staff member when our deposit would be released back into our account and was told it would be "a few working days depending on your bank." This caused major issues for us as we already had plans but now didn't have enough money in our account as £75.00 was still being held waiting for release!

Again - this only happened due to "LATE ROOMS" giving us incorrect information and is a serious issue which I hope City Apartments will get sorted. Make sure you have funds for a deposit and don't need to rely on them for a few days until they are returned!

Apart from this...

Apartment was clean, modern and fairly spacious. Staff were friendly enough but a maybe a little relaxed with security. We went out for a walk around town but forgot to take the door code with us. On return there was a different staff member on duty who hadn't seen us before. They let us straight in the building and up to our floor without any questions or checks.

We were in a room on the Spear Street side of the building (overlooked by the Travelodge Hotel. Traffic noise was non existant (unless windows were open) and there is room for around 4 cars to park on single yellow line. You can do this between 20:00 and 08:00 without the risk of getting a ticket.

Overall we liked the apartment but the stay was spoiled by the unforseen financial issue.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHGplaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    148
    36
    14
    8
See reviews for
90
132
18
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Considering this is pretty much self catering we were very happy to find enough bed linen and towels for the 4 members of the group plus tea, coffee and milk etc. not standard for this sort of place. The apartment was a two bed and also had two sofa beds, there was plenty of room the 2nd bedroom was probably a bit to small for 2 people staying for a long trip but for one night it was fine. Evererything was clean and well laid out, the staff were very helpful and cheap parking (£6.00 per day) was just a short walk around the corner. You can walk to the city centre from the appartments and it has a 24hr reception so when we got our taxi back in the early hours the guy on duty jumped up to open the door and get us out of the rain! If you take some bread and butter you can do yourself toast in the morning and have a very comfortable stay for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zonkedout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

At first I was quite worried about my choice of staying here, only because I felt it was cheap for what it was and thought there must have been a catch somewhere! However it was perfect, we were greeted by very friendly staff who showed us where to park, how to get to the town centre (literally down the road) and to our room; the rooms were tidy, clean and spacious and, had everything we needed to make our stay comfortable and alike to home. I would without a doubt stay here again and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawgl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

I am well travelled and stay in good quality 4* hotels, this apartment hotel was fantastic. I wasnt sure what to expect as I havent stayed in one before but was very impressed. We were upgraded from a one bedroom to one of the largest two bedroom apratments and had more room than my own two bed flat. Clean, nice new smell, good quality furniture and fittings and a good range of kitchen utensils etc.

Our room faced into the small lane at the side of the property and bedrooms onto the void at the back of the property. Very quiet throughout day and night.

Location was spot on - 5 minutes walk to Piccadily Gardens and just over ten minutes walk from Piccadily train station. Lovely art deco Daily Express buliding across the road, and area around has a lot of history and quirky buildings.

Things to remember - there is no kitchen cloth or tea towel so bring your own.

At £60 per night this is a complete bargain and would recommend to all. I certainly would stay again and will be reviewing and searching out other city centre apartments for my next city breaks.

Sightseeing - Recommended - Imperial War Museum North, MediaCity UK, Castelfield, Museum of Science and Industry.

Room Tip: Get a lane view room for quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseE76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

We always book apartment hotels for our city breaks, they are usually far better than hotels for a fraction of the price, this place was no exception. The location is perfect for the many bars and restaurants of Manchester's 'Northern Quarter' and is only a five minute stroll into the centre of town. The apartment was well appointed and comfortable, the only negative was the very low light in the bathroom, it was pretty dark, I had to take a lamp from the lounge in there so I could see to shave, dangerous I know but rather that than go out with wonky sideburns!! All in all a good place to stay on a visit to a great city.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richieedwards1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

A friend booked this so wasn't sure what to expect.

It is basically just like staying in a flat. We had a one bedroom between us. Me and my partner staying in the bedroom and our mate staying in the lounge on the sofabed. The whole appartment came with everything you need just like staying at a friends.

Very modern furnishings, very clean and tidy, a real home from home.

The traffic on the road outside we found rather noicy, but then I am used to living in a quiet cul-de-sac and this would have happened with a hotel in the same location. Well located near the city centre, with a handy pub opposite and just down the road a cafe doing nice breakfasts if you don't want to use the kitchen.

Ive have never stayed anywhere like this before, but would definately do it again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caulkheadmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

Reception bloke was very friendly and we were upgraded on arrival from a 0ne bed to a two bed apartment, which was great...we were initially impressed when we walked in to the apartment as it was a very good size, within two minutes the maintenance men let themselves in, which was a little annoying, but they had come to fix a wobbly table, all done in minutes!
The view from the apartment was poor, however we were not there for the view. It was right next to the Northern Quarter which gave it a real arty relaxed feel!
Very close to town so you could walk in no problem, we parked opposite the MEN Arena which cost £4.50 for 24hrs, which in Manchester is very cheap.
I felt that the apartment could have been improved, it was rather dirty and in areas, the bedroom, window sills were covered in dust and the light switches etc. The wine glasess in the cupboard had to be washed before use. This put me off a little as It made me felt that the apartment was grubby. The fixtures and fittings were a mix, but it did have a cheap feel....however it was only £60! we booked through laterooms as it said the apartment should have been between £200-£300 but I doubt this was the case as when we arrived the apartments were all advertised from £60.
Overall a good stay but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anishkalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityWarehouse, Front Office Manager at The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review of your stay.

May I firstly apologise for the issues you encountered during your stay?

We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our apartments and as you can see from prior reviews, the issues you encountered are not typical of our hotel.

I have passed on your comments to our housekeeping team so that their standards can be kept to the highest possible level at all times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.6 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#8 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#43 of 116 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel

Property: The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel
Address: 6-14 Great Ancoats Street, Manchester M4 5AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formed to ensure that visitors to Manchester have the choice they deserve, The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel offers an alternative to standard city centre hotel rooms. We have a selection of 1 and 2 bedroom apartments and penthouses, furnished and kitted out with all the mod cons and appliances that you would expect from a hotel. We want you to enjoy yourself, and think you will with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The City Warehouse Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing