We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

Las Iguanas - Deansgate
Ranked #51 of 2,254 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Brazilian, Latin, Spanish, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

we have recently got back from a visit to manchester and thought we would try a mexican, the atmosphere when you walk in this place is great everyone is really friendly we got in there early so they had happy hour on the cocktails which was a bonus and they where really lovely too.
we then decided to have something to eat we had nachos to start with which we shared and then burritos for our mains and everything was really tasty, the bill came to exactly £40 and this was with the 2-4-1 on the cocktails which i thought was quite reasonably priced.
i would defintely go again and recommend to others wanting something different.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chocoholic17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    268
    84
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great restaurant would definitely go again”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Extremely good value for money with the lunch menu, would recommend the cocktails! Comfy seating with a great atmosphere. Staff friendly and quick to attend to you.
Would definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank imogen227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We visited L.I. last November one lunchtime and wanted to return when we visited Manchester for our wedding anni. weekend. I had been sent a voucher e-mail for my birthday and very kindly, the manager agreed to honour it for the following weekend. The staff were really friendly and the food was delicious and served quickly! We were blown away when our waiter brought over complimentary drink to celebrate during dinner - what a fab gesture! As it was evening, we would have liked and thought there would have been some great latin style music playing but the atmosphere was still great and we enjoyed our evening here very much!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola4424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First Time”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Love the place already. My first impression is a lasting one for a good reason. The food was superb and very filling and also the staff excellent, professional and attentive. Will definately be going back! Fantastic cocktail menu too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jakebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a large party, and only one overworked waitress to serve us, and she was serving many others as well. So I would say understaffed. I felt sorry for our waitress who did her best and was very pleasant.
Not allowed to collect drinks from the bar. No wonder. There was no discernable alcohol in their cocktails. Was this because we were still ordering during their happy hour I wonder?
The food came lukewarm. The steak for the fahjitas was so stringy it could have been used for nicker elastic!
The person sitting next to me found a hair in his food. The replacement he got looked fantastic.
My impression is that the place is understaffed both in the kitchen and for waiting
Would I go again? No!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina60, Owner at Las Iguanas - Deansgate, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thanks for letting us know about your visit last week. I would like to reassure you that our cocktails are made to exactly the same recipe whether they are on happy hour or not and all of our bar tenders are tested for their accuracy of pouring cocktails before their shift so your cocktails should always be of the same good quality. I'd like to put you in touch with our area manager to find out more about your meal as we are proud of our menu which is cooked fresh from scratch, so would be grateful if you would drop me a line to lucy@iguanas.co.uk with a contact name and telephone number? Lucy- Las Iguanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Iguanas - Deansgate also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Las Iguanas - Deansgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing