We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss it”

The Manchester Museum
Ranked #6 of 174 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Manchester Museum is home to an array of treasures from the natural world and the many cultures it is home to. Highlights include a T.rex and fossils of other pre-historic creatures, ancient Egyptian artefacts and live amphibians and reptiles. You can handle objects from the collection, take part in hands-on activities or enjoy a glass of wine of cup of coffee whilst exploring the latest ideas in science, culture and the arts.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

It's free and so many to see in this museum, don't miss visit it . You will find out so many surprise in this museum. I love visit here and it has so many beautiful paints by famous painters. Visit it when you are in Manchester.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kenhsieh5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,047
    541
    115
    25
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“T-Rex at the Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is an excellent museum and very well geared towards children. My son loves to visit to see the T-Rex and there is always something extra to do. It is free so visiting doesnt cost anything. A good time to visit is saturday morning although parking is a lottery. The gift shop is well priced and you can bring your own packed lunch.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lsdwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I went here with my husband, my 6 year old daughter & 11 year old step daughter. To start with Its free entry which is always a bonus and we found it really interesting from start to finish. There are lots of different areas to explore, for the younger kids there is an activity area where they got to make puppets and do some gluing & colouring. We loved the Egyptian section of the museum with the mummy's in their open Sarcophagus. The children loved all the stuffed animals & skeletons. There is an indoor eating area where you can either buy something to eat of take your own.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsSpeaky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A good day out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Visited the museum to kill some time and it was better than expected if I'm honest! Lots of different things to see; I was especially fascinated with the animals. Would definitely return!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Yasmin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK - worth a visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a fun morning with me and the husband and the two children aged 4 and 9 x never been so thought it would be bigger but the kids enjoyed it and we did too - would visit again x

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KeatH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Manchester Museum also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Manchester Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing