We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food let down by slow service”

Zizzi - Manchester Corn Exchange
Ranked #247 of 2,254 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Zizzi we like to do things a little differently. We don’t do over-complicated recipes or scrimpy portion sizes. We’re all about the well-chosen ingredients, simply put together to make exceptional Italian food.Situated opposite the Arndale centre, Zizzi offers a great stop-off to rest your feet after a shopping trip. While away an afternoon in our al fresco area overlooking the bustling Exchange Square. Zizzi is a large restaurant capable of catering for any party size. The MEN arena is just a few minutes’ walk away this restaurant is a popular meeting place before and after a concert.Dine al fresco with an outdoor dining area for sunny weather.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice food let down by slow service”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We've only ever eaten here en route to an Arena event: it's close, well priced and the food is really good. The time the food takes to arrive at your table however is ridiculous.
On this occasion the restaurant was half full /half empty (depending on your point of view) but despite allowing an hour and a half for a starter and main course we had to rush to the event and missed the first 5 minutes of the show. We asked the waitress what was causing the delay and it was blamed on everyone arriving and ordering at the same time but as I've already mentioned it was only half full/half empty and we had booked ahead of arriving. Thankfully we've never visited on a Friday or Saturday night nor would I want to without taking something with me to eat while we waited.
No complaints about the food,price or waiting staff but the kitchen staff really need to get organised.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lulu410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    92
    37
    22
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible wait times for good food”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We decided to eat at Zizzi's because there is a 30% off voucher online. Unfortunately the wait times are ridiculous. We had to wait 45 minutes for our starter and then had to wait a further 40 minutes for two pizzas. Table service is good though, the wait times are just unacceptable. Won't be visiting again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David912014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrhyn Bay
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I am pleased we did not look at the reviews on here before coming because we would have been put off! Our own experience at this Zizzi's, however, was enjoyable. We arrived at 1 o'clock and only a handful of tables were occupied - when we left not even a quarter of the spacious restaurant was full. We were sat at the back looking onto the deserted shopping mall, which wasn't the best of views but the homely decor and great view of the open kitchens redeemed it.
In contrast to the other reviews, the service was extremely quick and friendly, but it was not a busy time. We started with the antipasti between the 3 of us, which was the meal's only disappointment. We did not feel its £11.95 price tag was justified as it equalled a tiny piece of mozzarella, a couple of sundried tomatoes, a couple of slices of meat, one bread stick and a few olives each. We have had much more generous antipastis for the same price at other Italians. For mains, I wanted to change the pizza toppings on the menu around a little but this was no problem for our waitress. The pizza rustica was big but not overfacing and very tasty, while my parents' pasta and risotto respectively were super delicious. We went for ice cream and tiramisu for pudding which was also nice, but again I feel that the ice cream serving could have been a little more generous. On the whole, however, we had a delicious meal with very prompt and friendly service and we would certainly visit again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WelshGal4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
524 reviews
424 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“good food and fast service”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Came on Friday night with a big group of friends. Decor was nice, atmosphere lacking considering it was pay day Friday and everywhere else was rammed. Maybe with just a few tables in the restaurant, that's why we had quick service? Service could have done with a smile and some personality though. Food is the same as every other zizzis - I love their rustica pizzas and feel that given the size they are fairly priced. Had a few sharing baskets for the starters - lovely soft bread sticks and I particularly enjoyed the mozzarella. There are other places I'd rather eat at than this Zizzis in town but I'd have no problem returning here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank huge_appetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“With three zizzis within a 15 minute walk, don't choose this one!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We are in love with the food at zizzis, however, after the service received on the 26th March, we will not be returning to this particular restaurant! We did have a 241 discount card, and therefore did not expect the best service, but what we (and others around us) experienced was beyond a joke.

The time taken to receive drinks was disappointing, and we had to flag a waiter over to order, who then called over the manager - this was really where the problems began! Approaching with hands on hips, he could not have been less friendly or welcoming. Originally, I believed this may have been to do with us using a voucher, however, this was exactly the same way he addressed every single person in the place. Some people should not be in customer service, personally I felt as though we were bothering him by being there.

It took a shockingly long time for starters to arrive, and our plates were not taken away until the mains turned up. Again, it took around 15 minutes for our plates to be taken, and desert menus handed over by the manager. Despite trying to catch anyone's eye for a further 15 minutes to order, eventually we gave up and again eventually had to call someone over to just get the bill. All in all, a seemingly overstaffed restaurant, most of whom seemed to be more preoccupied with scuttling away from the manager than serving customers lead to it taking 2 hours to have two courses, which really seems too much to me!

Something else worth noting, is that there were lots of little flies hovering around - plates and glasses were clean, so not sure whether this is cause for concern, however it was quite off putting.

We have been here many times, the food (as usual) was perfect, however, with one in Piccadilly (not 5 minutes walk away) and another in Spinningfields, we will not be returning, and would not recommend this restaurant to anyone!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zizzi - Manchester Corn Exchange also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Zizzi - Manchester Corn Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing