We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs A Like Of Paint”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palace Theatre

Palace Theatre
Ranked #23 of 175 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Needs A Like Of Paint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Show great but think the place could do with a lick of paint and new carpets as smells musty - Drinks not cheap and nearly fell over at the price of sweets and crisps - i popped over the road think it was sainsburys and bought supplies there and took a large hand bag as tend not to bag search

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tori4187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    329
    172
    76
    67
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“poor music/conservative themes/poor venue”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Attended the final performance 20/02/2013.

I didnt have much hope for the music due to the involvement of Elton John and Tim Rice but it was worse than I could have possibly imagined - particularly the long and boring solos.

The set up, inside the auditorium, was promising with sets of drums either side of the stage high in a balcony and the general sound production was good but what a wasted opportunity the musical score was.

The score was was staid and predictable. The rhythms conservative and the harmonys unimaginative. The group songs were saved partially by the activity on the stage and the costumes.The dancing was also surprisingly predictable. The first half of the performance seemed to go on for ever and there was certainly nothing awe-inpiring for the finale

I also found the themes of the performance unimaginative and conservative - loyalty, frienship, family, royalty, inheritance, good and evil, and social and political stability threatened by evil enemies from without/within. Yawn.

As for the venue, it is dreadful, its hot, theres no legroom, poor toilet facilities (queues right through the break) and expensive refreshment.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Menacechester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Lion King”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Booked tickets back in January so we were extremely hyped up about seeing the Lion King on tour. After seeing numerous youtube videos of the West End singers we were really excited, although I will probably have to see the West End version to compare. I think some of the characters mics were quieter than others or the music was too loud at some points which is a shame because these are outstanding singers.

Overall, it was a stunning piece. I cried 4 times because the singing was outstanding. Scar was the star of the show for me, really did him justice!

The Palace Theatre in general (we were in the grand tier row J so lots of flights of stairs) when the tickets said 'legroom restricted' boy, do they mean it! My 6'2 boyfriend was very uncomfortable throughout. I'm 5'3, and even I had trouble. I know they can't change the seating arrangements, but it's better to be prepared before you go! On a brighter note, the bar staff and other staff were very welcoming and chatty, always good to see!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LisheeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foulridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
648 reviews
391 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“Excellent productions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Went to see The Lion King but we have seen many other productions at The Palace Theatre. The theatre is in a good location and easy to get to with parking in the area. They manage to get excellent productions including Lion King and We Will Rock You which was also brilliant. The Lion King was amazing and well worth seeing. The theatre manages the set and music well.

My only criticism was that it got a little hot and there isn't fantastic leg room but that's the same with most theatres.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mr_MrsBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantica golden beach
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“THE LION KING MANCHESTER”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I went to the last night of the Lion King in Manchester - so disappointed. The scenery and costumes very good but the diction of some of the characters like the hyenas was very poor you could not understand a thing. After all the hype about the show was very annoyed. Our seats were in the stalls but you could not see the whole stage or the side balconies. Extremely disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmymack5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace Theatre also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Palace Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing