We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lion King - superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Palace Theatre

Palace Theatre
Ranked #23 of 175 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Barnsley
Level Contributor
318 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Lion King - superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We saw the lion king on the Saturday night and had a great time night. The staff were friendly, it was easy to pick up our tickets and we had a drink in the bar which was a reasonable price and no real queues. We sat in the circle and the only criticism was there is very little legroom and it was very warm. But a great night out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank BarnsleyChappers147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    329
    172
    76
    67
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Cheshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful evening watching the lion king at the palace. The tickets were a Christmas gift from our daughter and her husband. Two days before we were due to visit my daughter received an email from the palace stating that the seats allocated had limited leg room. Undeterred we attended with both our daughters and both mums who had tickets in the stalls, my mother who is disabled and in a wheelchair was treated with dignity and respect by the staff both before and after the performance. Our tickets were in the circle. My better half is 6 feet 6 inches tall and I'm 5 feet eleven. We tried our seats but my other half just couldn't get his legs in!!!! I spoke to one of the staff and explained about the email and the fact that we had tried the seats. She in turn contacted her supervisor Lois who arranged for us to be reseated despite it being a full house. Our new seats were amazing and in a box to our great surprise and delight. Thank you to all who helped us tonight, the show is fantastic and all of us had a really special evening. Thank you to all the staff involved.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The Lion King”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

A superb show that is staged wonderfully in Manchester. We went to see it here after seeing it first in London an actually enjoyed it more. We sat at the front row of the upper circle and had perfect views. Acting was very good and all ages who attended seemed to very much enjoy it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sw02jco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic show”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went to watch the Lion King which was fantastic, but Oh the seats, my feet were in pins and needles there was so little space, and walking down to them was like looking down a cliff, I dont know how these stairs pass health and safety regs

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Customer Service second to non, no quibble due to snow disruption, after half an hour to booking office they rearrange our show date to Easter....

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Perky62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace Theatre also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Palace Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing