We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Palace Theatre

Palace Theatre
Ranked #23 of 174 things to do in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have been to see many shows at the Palace Theatre. It's a great venue. Situated in the centre of Manchester, so with easy walking distance of the train and bus stations. It is also surrounded by restaurants and bars.

Helpful?
Thank janita f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    329
    172
    76
    67
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Madame butterfly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

It was my first visit to the ballet and wow! I loved the show, visability was good, sound and lighting where perfect. The venue it's self was easy to find, staff where helpful and we have already booked another show in November! Around the theatre there where plenty of bars and Resturants which we took full advantage of.

Helpful?
Thank citynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
237 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Can be cramped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The theatre is nice enough but whilst it is of a decent size it feels squashed together and cramped. The seats in the stalls are ok but the circle and elsewhere are pretty bad. There is a overhang of the stalls seats as in most theatres of this style but even more so here as the circle is quite far forward relative to the stalls. In Phantom we could not see the chandalier, although it was displayed on a TV screen, and some of the high shots on the stage were also out of view.

There are many large scale productions on here and they are always done well but this is down to the company doing them not the theatre itself. Hence it is convenient for this and it is the show you go to see at the end of the day just don't expect to be sat in the greatest of comfort.

The Grand in Leeds is far far superior.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank andrew1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
156 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Dated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

It is a theatre and does what it says on the tin but it is dated and needs a little renovating in my opinion

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank197537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You could hold the Paralympics here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Show ok but can I have my knees back please? I'm six feet tall, no giant but I'd need lower leg amputation to be comfy here. And the price of ice creams!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank mikesam49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palace Theatre also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Palace Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing