We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

Opus One - Manchester
Ranked #222 of 2,389 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $58
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The dramatically glamorous surroundings of Opus One are a sharp riposte to the Italianate façade of the Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester in which it is situated. An extravaganza of red chandeliers, glossy black woodwork and antique gold wall hangings give this striking central Manchester restaurant a bold, vibrant ambience. Cuisine is fittingly modern British, with locally sourced produce dressed up in excitingly eclectic flavours.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Lovely tea and friendly staff, the only let down was the formality of the restaurant and there is no outside view, which on a lovely sunny day was a shame.

Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Opus One - Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. I hope to welcome you back to our restaurant again very soon. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 507 of 666 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

The food was very good, however it is in the basement of a hotel and seemed like it. Somehow for that kind of money I want something a bit nicer.

Food was a nice mix of updated British fare with new twists (which seems to be the fashion in a lot of restaurants in Britain), and a lot of local ingredients, which is great in the summer.

Thank Garyd57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Opus One - Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments I will be sure to pass on your feedback to our team and look forward to seeing you again in Opus One. Reagrds..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Treated the extended family to afternoon tea. Fantastic service, really attentive but unobtrusive. Struck a lovely balance between the formal and informal which put the whole party at ease and made for a truly memorable experience. Having recently attended a function at one of it's main competitiors, I can see why The Radisson is awarded five stars. Class service, class food and class decor. Well done Radisson Edwardian - well done Opus One. As one famous screen icon said......I will return.

Thank MarkW09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Opus One - Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, our afternoon tea is a major part of our operation and its great hear our high standards are noted. I will be sure to pass your kind comments onto our team. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

opus one is a very chilled out bar. very friendly staff very welcoming and all in all a good place to hang out and have drinks with friends and family. i would highly recomend it to anyone whos not been before.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank kiellerichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter B, Manager at Opus One - Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments I will be sure to pass these onto our team and look forward to welcoming you back to Opus in the very near future. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Whilst the food was good, it would not satisfy a decent appetite. I ordered a rack of Lamb and was served two tiny pieces of Lamb on the bone. All side orders are at an additional cost, however we were on the promo theatre dining. There is a 10% service charge which I only found out about by challenging the cost of our first drink (£8.10 for a beer and a small tonic water). You need to request that the 10% is removed if you don't agree with it. We asked for a glass of wine at the table and were initially given one between us, but the waiter did apologise for the confusion.
All in all, despite the food being very good, the experience was a disappointment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opus One - Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Opus One - Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing