We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total disappointment-do not visit!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of ABode Restaurant

ABode Restaurant
Ranked #340 of 2,185 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $39 - $106
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: In the bustling centre of Manchester's Piccadilly, ABode Restaurant at ABode Manchester offers smart modern European cooking from its period location inside a former cotton merchant's warehouse. Situated on the lower ground level, this elegant restaurant has a buzzy, easygoing vibe, with snappy grazing menus and express lunches for busy diners and sumptuous à la carte offerings for more leisurely meals. Typically creative dishes include pan-fried brill with creamed leeks and chive butter sauce or best-end of lamb with onion and thyme purée.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Total disappointment-do not visit!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We visited to celebrate friends birthdays and having the cancer all clear. We were so disappointed with our visit. As a group of 5 young women, we were treated like children, asked if we were going to go on to a heavy night and making inappropriate conversation. Our drinks were ok, but pricey, and when we eventually got the bill, we were made to feel that it was an inconvenience that we wanted to pay separately, then when paying, our server remarked 'don't all rush at once'. The behaviour was totally inappropriate. Our table was not cleaned and we were shoved onto makeshift tables pushed together by the kitchen doors, in a near deserted restaurant. We were really unhappy with how we were treated, especially when we saw that 12% service had been automatically added onto the price. Not a good experience, much better places, do not waste your time or money.

Helpful?
Thank Phoebedw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    260
    180
    116
    84
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Birthday celebratory meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a table for 4 on the evening of 13.2.13 and found the service good, the atmosphere warm and the food flavours excellent.
Prices were high, especially as portions are very small. Wine was eye-wateringly priced and not worth the money - but it was a special occasion and a great treat.

We probably won't return as finances don't permit it, and we do like to have more on our plates even if we aren't greedy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaytrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food for a rare treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Me and my better half visited this restaurant for our anniversary/valentine lunch, booked on the morning which was nice and easy online. We had a 12:00 reservation so expected it to be quiet, nice chilled atmosphere serving staff weren't too invasive. I had the scallops to start and my girlfriend had the oxtail ravioli, both we're amazing! We also were given free appetisers which was a nice touch. We had the wild duck and the pan fried cod both cooked to perfection!
The price of the meal was quite expensive so would only come again for a really special occasion. Would recommend if you have a good disposable income!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlhaworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have eaten here a couple of times in the cafe upstairs. We've booked the rooms here for our wedding night. Absolutely stunning rooms. The staff are the best in the world! So friendly and full of character, a refreshing change from the normal stiff coldness that you get from hotel chains! I recommend this place to anyone.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We were excited to try this place. However, it was a total disappointment. We were in on a quiet night on a raised section. The atmosphere was flat and the waiting staff strange. Constant interruptions to the meal by various waiters to top up water and wine were annoying. The food was ok but just that. Maybe it was an off night for them but it just felt like a hotel restaurant and nothing else

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackieireton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ABode Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to ABode Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing