We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Treated like royalty on this visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Henry J. Beans - Manchester - CLOSED

Henry J. Beans - Manchester
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Situated in the busy Printworks complex in the centre of the city, Henry J Beans in Manchester has built up an enviable reputation for delivering an authentic and successful American bar and grill proposition. With its richly stained and varnished timbers, dark wooden flooring and conveniently zoned interior, offering bar seating, comfortable lounge areas, a separate dining area with booth seating and a dance floor, Henry J Beans in Manchester certainly delivers an authentic American experience. Our menu features all of the most popular American favourites, from our world famous burgers and hot dogs, to mouth-watering steaks, ribs and platters and you can be sure that the quality of our food and service is second to none! And at night Henry J Beans really is the place to party, with the biggest selection of spirits in Manchester, a delicious range of quality cocktails, wines and beers and regular entertainment in the form of DJ’s and live music, all guaranteed to ensure that you always leave wanting more.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Treated like royalty on this visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My family and I turned up on a Wednesday afternoon . Okay it was dead but when we ordered drinks we were given complementary cocktails which were stunning.we never tried the food there however the rest was perfect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    21
    24
    15
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
214 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Ordered a large Cesar Salad. The lettuce was brownish, the size of the salad was xxxxxs. I wonder how they can have a smaller sized salad on their menu??
The tablecloth was sticky, I should have left before ordering by seeing that.
The salad was not that bad, but it was not from the freshest ingredients and the quality of the ingredient is poor.
Go somewhere else to eat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank seventynine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Henry j ruined my day.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Wanted a quick cheerful lunch do decided to try Henry j beans as there was an offer. After a bit of a wait we received our milkshakes which were mainly ice in the glass. We ordered a starter of jalapeños with cream cheese and bread crumbs, but some were not cooked through as they were cold in the middle. The waitress we spoke to said there was a discount for these. Everything was fine with the mains but they were nothing special. We got the bill and it only had the discount on for the offer, so we had to ask again for the starters to be discounted. While we were there, 2 other tables complained and one just walked out with full drinks left. The place was quite quiet at this time but there was a wait. We went for a change from our usual papa g's across the way but will stick to going there as it's great for a good value lunch. The only redeeming feature of Henry j beans is the staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ferret_buzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Big food portions, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Pre concert late lunch meant we arrived at about 4pm. There were a few people eating but there only seemed to be two members of staff on duty, but ours was helpful and courteous.

Portions were big and well cooked but nothing special.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank really_razamataz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Don't bother!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Having visited here a couple of years ago and having a good time , thought we would have lunch whilst on a day trip. What a difference a couple of years make. The first clue that things had changed should have been the fact that the place was empty, unfortunately we didn't let that deter us. we ordered 5 meals and drinks and then proceeded to wait nearly 45 mins for the food to arrive, we could see the chef milling about in the kitchen at a snails pace. When the food finally did arrive it was luke warm. The best I could say about it was that the presentation was ok. We did order a second glass of wine as the food came to the table, it never arrived, the waitress said she forgot, had she been rushed off her feet we could have understood. At no point where we asked did we require anything else or was everything ok, standard practice I thought? To top it all we couldn't get the attention of staff to get the bill. toilets were unacceptable also, sinks pretty dirty. No longer a good atmosphere there. Will not be going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jayman261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry J. Beans - Manchester also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing