We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal but...”

Harvey Nichols Second Floor Bar and Brasserie
Ranked #124 of 2,252 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $65
Cuisines: European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Last food orders generally 1 hour before closing times as noted. Last bar orders 30 minutes before closing times.
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely meal but...”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We booked a table to try the winter feast menu was a great deal. The cocktail was much nicer than expected since neither of us were whisky drinkers and both starters and mains were excellent (we both had the cod & sweet potato curry). I agree with other reviews that the cornflakes on top of the panacotta were far too sweet and that's coming from someone who loves a pudding! Service was very good and overall we were very happy however the one downfall was that we were put in a table in the furthest corner of the restaurant so didn't really get chance to take in the atmosphere. It was definitely a case of "cheap deal, cheap seats".

Helpful?
Thank Jenuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S, PA to Store Director at Harvey Nichols Second Floor Bar and Brasserie, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Jenuno

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the Winter Feast menu and your experience overall.

Your comments regarding the panacotta have been passed to the Head Chef. I would also like to assure you that guests dining on the Winter Feast menu are not seated in any different priority to those on the A la Carte menu.

We do have a different Winter Feast menu for the restaurant area if you would prefer to be seated in that space - this has actually been extended until 1st March.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Second Floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    241
    96
    40
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Not all its cracked up to be”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Cam here for family afternnon tea. Even though this was pre-booked weeks in advance it took ages to get seated and get a table and we just had to stand in front of this tills getting in everyones way. I think the staff could have been a little more polite and did get that sense of looking down ones nose. When we got seated t took a long time to serve us. There was a good choice of teas, I had the green which was very nice. The food was ok -but nothing special, I've had nicer in local cafes for 1/4 price. The atmosphere was quite nice only it did feel like we were being rushed out. A real downside was the toilets were filthy for such a nice eshtablishment his should have been a top priority but they were awful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katenorthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S, PA to Store Director at Harvey Nichols Second Floor Bar and Brasserie, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Kate

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you were disapointed with your experience - I can assure you that we have taken your comments on board and these will be reviewed with the team.

If we have been unable to resolve issues on the day in person, we are always available directly at contactmanchester@harveynichols.com.

Yours sincerely

Louise Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manc
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disaster from the off.”
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

They lost my booking . Then claimed that because it was for 6 people if they had taken the booking they would have taken a deposit. Checked the text I'd sent straight after I booked it which confirmed that it was their mistake . Then after being told the supper club deal was on via the original booking phonecall and again on Friday , I was then told it's not on. Next time we ll go somewhere with decent customer service. Avoid !

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sazzle074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise S, PA to Store Director at Harvey Nichols Second Floor Bar and Brasserie, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Sazzle 074

Thank you for your review. If you could contact me via contactmanchester@harveynichols.com with full booking details and confirmation I can investigate this further.

Yours sincerely

Louise Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Excellent value pre theatre dining”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We ate here before going to the Royal Exchange, very close by. Their Winter Feast menu is great value, three courses, a cocktail and a glass of wine for £20. The promotion is obviously working because the brasserie was very busy from 5.30 onwards.
We hadn't expected a lot for the price but the food and service were very good. The menu was not extensive but was imaginative, and food arrived hot and well presented.
We would certainly return here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea was a treat!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I booked to go here on Saturday afternoon for a Champagne afternoon tea. Really enjoyed it- great location overlooking the Triangle, excellent service and the selection of sandwiches and cakes were delicious. All topped off with a lovely glass of champagne and then green tea. Also liked the fact that could book on-line. Highly recommended!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ange_from_cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey Nichols Second Floor Bar and Brasserie also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Harvey Nichols Second Floor Bar and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing