We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional eaterie delivers as usual.”

Harvey Nichols Second Floor Bar and Brasserie
Ranked #124 of 2,252 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $65
Cuisines: European, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Last food orders generally 1 hour before closing times as noted. Last bar orders 30 minutes before closing times.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Professional eaterie delivers as usual.”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Lunch has to be right at Harvey Nicks and the Manchester store delivers pretty much on all fronts.
The Falafel dish was yumsville and the olives n garlic scrumptious.
Any negatives...well one minor point...the atmosphere. For such a class outfit, I felt the operation was lacking leadership. In fact if it wasn't for a particular waitress who clearly sensed the lack of two ways with customers, it might have become Harvey Morgue's!
Quality establishment not to be missed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smartluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    241
    96
    40
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea Fab but Service Not so much”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Took my mum and sister here to afternoon tea and the food was really lovely and quite good value and the view was great too but the service wasnt good - we dealt with 3 different members of staff at various points and they were without exception sullen, obviously unhappy in their jobs and reluctant to be helpful - Despite the good food the staff attitude and poor service did spoil the occasion which was a shame. A smile and good manners cost nothing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best HN's Restaurant By Far”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I visited the restaurant recently & took advantage of the supper club deal - 3 courses & a cocktail for £20. Absolutely superb! Start to finish.

Food choices were brilliant lots to suit all tastes. I can recommend the prawn wontons or black pudding & pear starters. Main course I had the fish & chips which was huge. Homemade tartare sauce was lovely. Dessert was fabulous - cherry arctic roll. The cocktail was made with gin & elderflower really refreshing.

The service must be commended too. Our waitress was so helpful & really knowledgable about the menu & wine.

I've eaten in nearly all the HN's restaurants & I have to say I think this is my favourite. Head & shoulders above Edinburgh.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edinburghross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Nice!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Very nice drinks and 1st class service! The selection of drinks is very good. Obviously its not cheap but if you want cheap drinks there are plenty of other pubs about!

Helpful?
Thank Middletonmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great food and staff”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Food amazing as always
Delay in cocktails and wine being delivered to table with meal, due to impromptu arrival of another large party
Staff very gracious and without prompting, no charge for cocktails and service charge removed from bill.
Would eat here again without a doubt.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MrsClifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey Nichols Second Floor Bar and Brasserie also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Harvey Nichols Second Floor Bar and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing