We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Concentrate on service not tariffs added to the bill !”

Harvey Nichols Second Floor Bar and Brasserie
Ranked #102 of 2,297 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $64
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Last food orders generally 1 hour before closing times as noted. Last bar orders 30 minutes before closing times.
Manchester UK ( Ex West Clare IRL)
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Concentrate on service not tariffs added to the bill !”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Decided to come off the busy streets & go to this restaurant y'day whilst strolling through the Christmas markets. When the bill arrived it looked inflated.
The opinion of my sister & I is that if we have a long and enjoyable many courses of a meal with good service ,we always pay a decent deserved tip.
However if we bob in for a quick 1 course lunch we don’t expect to get hammered for extra’s added like charity payment of £1.00 + a tip up front without giving us a choice to judge service. Whilst the waiter service was good, food choice & standard also good & value for money....the whole experience was spoilt it by HN assuming to deduct a % up front.
Message for Harvey Nicks...It isn't a charity donation of my choice it is a tariff. and as for tips, we will make the decision on that.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheelers0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    429
    253
    98
    40
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Room with a view beautiful food”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The table setting is clean and precise, the view over the shops and square is a very good plus to the ambience. The food is delicate and well executed. would definitely recommend

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Choxaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“brassier”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

we went to harvey nicks for the first time with family,on the offer they had on in oct 2012 .3coarses for 15.00,the food was excellent quiltiy and very good value.would recommed to all my friends

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gailannie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Overall Good - But Faults to Address”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The restaurant shares facilities with the brasserie next door. It is a well proportioned room with good views and a very professional staff. The champagne trolly provides a nice way to start the meal. The menu is interesting, but the descriptions of dishes could be more precise. Fish was well cooked and well presented. Sadly, both meat dishes sampled were seriously defective. In both cases the meat was of apparently good quality, but totally devoid of all flavour. It was as if it had been cooked from raw in the water bath until tender and then served. If the resulting jus was retained, it was not for use in the dish. It looked good, it was tender, but it was tasteless. The other aspects of each dish were very well done, which made the failure more of a surprise and disappointment. The cod and the monkfish were, in contrast, well cooked and formed part of comendable dishes. Each of the four starters sampled was also good - especially the crab. The wine list is interesting. Ignoring the usual array of expensive claret and burgundy, there were good wines to be found (at more sensible prices) in regional France and in Spain and Italy, the new world was rather less exciting. However, mark ups for these more affordable bottles are steep.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ABC_1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkham
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Supper Club:)”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Harvey Nicks Brasserie. The food was high quality and plentiful. We were greeted with a glass of mulled wine which was appreciated as we had just come in out of the rain! You had a varied choice on the menu of meat, fish and vegitarian dishes.
It was especially busy but this didnt alter anything at no point did we feel we needed to rush and move on.
The staff who swerved us were attentive and nothing was too much trouble:))
Will be going back:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susiewoof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey Nichols Second Floor Bar and Brasserie also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Harvey Nichols Second Floor Bar and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing