We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Service Value A1”
Review of Albert's Shed

Albert's Shed
Ranked #40 of 2,279 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $59
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: If arriving by train - we are a 2 minute walk from Deansgate train station and a short taxi ride from Piccadilly Station. If arriving by Metrolink - we are a 5 minute walk from G-Mex Metrolink station. If arriving by road we are very close to the end of both the M56 and M602. Look out for The Beetham Tower (Hilton Hotel)
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food Service Value A1”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This wasn't my 1st visit to Alberts and it certainly won't be my last
A party of 5 we were short on time as we had a barge trip booked but the service choice of food and quality for £10.95 for 2 courses is,in my opinion exeptional value for money
I'll be back soon

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robsimmo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,252
    607
    178
    65
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing meal, Amazing Atmosphere, Amazing Service”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Went for a meal on a saturday evening earlier this month for my birthday. There was 12 of us so had to go for one of the set menu's we opted for the gold package. I am sometimes not sold on set menus as the choice/quality is not always as good but WOW the food was amazing! scallops to start followed by venison. The service was second to none and was made to feel very special on my birthday with a glass of prosecco and dessert complete with candle - a nice touch! Will 100% be dining here again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amoseley1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Visited on a Sunday evening with a group of friends. Had reservations following quite an average experience at their sister restaurant in Didsbury- however these were quickly smoothed over. Everything was just lovely, from the decor and atmosphere through excellent service and fabulous food. My favourite was the chocolate fondant! We will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andymac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food but disappointing otherwise”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Visited last week after having been meaning to do so for quite some time and had been looking forward to it for a while, on previous occasions we had tried to book but they had been full, a good sign I thought.

I will start by saying that the food was lovely, no complaints there, but there were a few other small issues, niggles really, that had me leaving feeling slightly disappointed, I debated wether or not to leave this review as the points may seem petty but I do believe the restaurant has the potential to impress if a few things are dealt with. When we arrived we had to wait not be attended to at the door then my jacket was taken but in the process of hanging it a ladies coat was knocked onto the floor and then left there ? Once seated the waitress brought over the menu but straight away addressed us as 'guys' I know there isn't a lot wrong with that but it didn't feel a very professional way to address a customer there isn't yet any rapport with. We shared some bread to start but weren't given any side plates so we were left trying to tear the bread over the small bowl it came in, again a minor point. The final point was that when we arrived there was a table nearby that had clearly just been left, it had the dirty plates stacked on it and the tablecloth folded up, it took an hour for the table to be cleared and set again, it just made the place look a bit messy and it wasn't like they were short staffed.

In short and as said in the title the food was lovely, no denying that. But the numerous small niggles had me leaving feeling a little underwhelmed with no urge to go back and that was disappointing because I really had high hopes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Birthday Lunch”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We went here for my girlfriends birthday as a pre matinee lunch. The lunch menu includes a £10.95 deal for two courses. We both had the eggs Benedict to start and I had the chicken for main and my girlfriend had the burger. All the food was really nice. I also had a chocolate volcano for dessert, very rich but right up my street! Nice atmosphere, friendly staff and lovely food. Top marks to Tom who was our waiter, very attentive and polite. Will be returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dynamite47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albert's Shed also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Albert's Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing