We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Albert's Shed

Albert's Shed
Reserve with OpenTable
Albert's Shed is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 2,242 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $58
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: If arriving by train - we are a 2 minute walk from Deansgate train station and a short taxi ride from Piccadilly Station. If arriving by Metrolink - we are a 5 minute walk from G-Mex Metrolink station. If arriving by road we are very close to the end of both the M56 and M602. Look out for The Beetham Tower (Hilton Hotel)
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Some years ago, while on holiday in Thailand, we met the owner of this restaurant, and he recommended that if we were ever in Manchester, we should go there. So finally we did, and it was terrific. It was our 30th anniversary, and we were warmly welcomed with complimentary champagne. The staff were superb - they unobtrusively monitored our table and knew exactly the right moment to approach it. The food was excellent, with an imaginative sharing starter and tasty mains, chosen from a wide-ranging menu, of duck and Malaysian chicken, with well cooked vegetables and some very nice wine. Desserts could be substantial or light, but were delicious. The restaurant has a large outdoor courtyard where you can sit beside the Rochdale Canal - it is a very atmospheric setting. The restaurant has a relaxed vibe and is clearly very popular with local people - if we lived in Manchester I am sure we would go there often. The cost of the meal was similar to what we have paid elsewhere to eat much poorer food in much less interesting surroundings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennyeccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,200
    582
    166
    62
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
113 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Make sure you go here when in Manchester”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My partner and I visited Albert's Shed with friends on a Friday evening. The place was buzzing, but that didn't mean the staff were inattentive, on the contrary our waiter was excellent, letting us change our table when we asked to sit outside. Two of us shared the chateaubriand and it was fabulous, cooked to perfection. My partner had the lamb which he raved about (unusual for him). I really can't think of a negative to this place, the food was great, the atmosphere was great and the wine was excellent. Would go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank discerning60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One step beyond”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

My other half decided to take me out tonight. On a school day! he had booked a table at Alberts Shed in Manchester. My husband started with king scallops I had the Bombay potato fritter. We both really enjoyed our starters. To follow my husband had the lamb rump and I had the Malayan chicken. Both courses were beautifully presented. The waiter was attentive but not intrusive. I took a visit to the ladies room. The restrooms are in the basement. As I need crutches to walk I was finding the door to the lift difficult to open. Out of no where a waiter appeared an helped me into the lift. As the lift door opened the waiter had run down the stairs and opened the rest room door for me. This meant so much. It felt like a really personal service. If you want really lovely food well presented with excellent service I recommend Alberts shed. Thank you for a great experience

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSpartacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We celebrated my daughters 18th birthday this weekend with a meal at Albert's shed. Lovely atmosphere food was beautiful I'm sure we will return again

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sharples49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Needs a fresh menu.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I love it here, we dined here on Sunday as a table for 6, the food was very good, but I am knocking off a point as I feel the menu needs a shake and the side dishes are positively boring. Also wish you would not add a service charge for parties of six or more, that is discretionary and I will leave the tip that I feel worthy. I had no problems with the service but its for the customer to rate not the establishment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stevemartin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albert's Shed also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Albert's Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing